knowing what to knit

for best wearing knits I did two things:

  1. find out what shape my body is and what kind of garments flatter it
  2. find out what colours compliment my skin tone

for 1. I used Trinny and Susannah’s What not to Wear series on the BBC. Their ideas are nicely summed up in their book The Body Shape Bible.

Photograph (c) artbysarah.net Photograph (c) artbysarah.net

I’m a goblet.

Broad shoulders, ample bossom, no waist, no hips, no butt, slender legs. Garments that flatter me typically have V-shaped necks, 3/4 or long sleeves, waist shaping, length to or beyond the hips, skirts that flare around my calves (think sea mermaid)

for 2. I got a Personal Colour Analysis, using a system that divides colours in cool/warm; clear/muted and bright/dark. Best sites about this are older posts at 12blueprints.com and Truth is Beauty.com

The wonderful thing was to sit in front of a mirror and see your features change with the colour that is draped around it. With oranges I grew green and sick. With hard purple I grew stern. With cool, bright colours I started glowing.

photo by artur022Photograph (c) artur022

Colours that make me look good are cool, clear and bright. Colours you’d see on a marvellous bright winter day. Or on this Peacock. In other systems I’d be called a Bright Winter or a Clear Winter. Here’s a blogpost from 12blueprints.com giving a good indication.

With this knowledge I knew what I was looking for in patterns and in yarns.
And my favourite colour orange that makes me look so pale? I’m wearing it on my feet!
orange-socks2

One thought on “knowing what to knit

Leave a Reply

