purple is never a chore

Each month we knit socks together over at the Dutch Sock Knitters Group on Ravelry. October will be about Purple; Self striping and/or A Technique You Never Tried Before.

I found a nice pattern with all three and a nice yarn to got with it:

the yarn is Regia 4 ply. I’ll combine it with a contrasting yarn, perhaps white. (or green?)

the pattern is Zarathustra

I’ll be using HiyaHiya needles Red Lace size 2,25 mm

The Technique I Never Tried is Mosaic. Each round you knit with another colour but some stitches you slip, thus causing them to make small vertical stripes in colour. Sounds so much easier than my assumption about mosaic: break the pattern up in small parts and try and fudge them together.

With this fun project in my future, especially when doing this same pattern together with others!, I have an easier time doing my ‘chore’ and finishing that large cardigan in brown handspun. Or does it feel like a chore because I only knit it while watching bloody murder series on the television with my husband?

Leave a Reply

