following: knitting, diet, blogs, yarn

I’ve knitted the second sleeve a bit wider. It is much better:

here you see the two sleeves on top of each other. Just a little bit wider to the eye but all the difference to the arm. I went with 56 stitches. (well, with 54 to be honest. Untill I reached the stranded bit and realised 54 is not in the table of 8)

I notice the picture looks a bit of a liar near the white part but if you look at the dark parts you see the sleeves are right on top of each other. That is not a shadow peaking from under the upper sleeve.

talking about shadows….I’ve been knitting for days on end now. Watching video’s (Eureka, The Best Marigold Hotel and Downton Abbey). I am not well you see.

1

 Somehow winter depression and my adrenal insufficiency have teamed up and for the last few days I’m feeble, weak, confused and nauseated. I’ve been crying a lot and am very afraid I’ll slip into a long depression.

Hence the knitting and the video’s. Keep yourself distracted, keep the body healthy and soldier through the coming weeks before drawing any conclusions.

what would the Dowager Countess do?

“Knitter, dear, you’re a woman with a brain, and reasonable ability, so:
2

that’s what I thought.

The despair is one thing. The lack of concentration is something else: I loose my balance when I walk; I cannot decide on simple matters and this morning I came down to the living room finding the patio doors were wide open. I didn’t close them properly before locking them. It’s kind of scary, not being able to trust yourself. Luckily I have a lot of routines to check and doublecheck these kind of things. (last night I consciously decided against checking the patio doors because I feel a bit paranoid and compulsary and ‘mousey’ (not ‘liony’) when I do the routines. Guess I’ll be a good little mouse tonight 😉

yes, I’ll be following the rules I have drawn up over the last few years for just these kind of episodes: check for safety. Wear woolens. Keep feet warm. Drink warm tea, eat warm dinner. And eat healthy. That’s why I just made muffins.

But since the thought of scooping 12 spoons of batter into their little cups wiped me out (can you imagine nearly crushing to the floor just thinking about something as silly as that? I really have it bad this week) I decided to make one big ‘muffin’ in the lasagna tray:

It is delicious! With Danish Blue cheese and organic bacon and Demeter full cream butter and organic eggs. (do you know Demeter? It is organic but with extra consideration for the seasonal and circadian rythmes.) I think its taste resembles macaroni and cheese but without the fluten. No gluten neither.

Another kind of following that fortifies me is you. Yes you. The people who read this blog. Who follow this blog even, that is such a compliment, to have followers! You really make my day.

I’d never thought these posts might be interesting enough for anyone to bother to find the blog a second time. Not with my weird English and less than elegant sentences. And the hop scotch kind of posts I seem to write. I like it very much that there are people who like the posts and the blog. I hope you keep liking it. Feel free to leave a comment, I welcome it.

this is the fourth following I want to mention today. I follow where the yarn leads.

I want to make some kind of sweater, a stranded fingerweight pullover with a woodland theme. I’m starting in February -oh! I really should tell you about the to do list I made for this year! It’s ridiculous…and assumes 31 hours in every day. And that was before I started the freeform Kitty Blanket (that wasn’t even on the list).-

but this sweater…. all I knew was: darkbrownorange. It’s a colour I love, it soothes me. I had chosen this Evilla yarn in brown and white and had gotten this marvellous orange handspun that goes with it. I myself had spun another brownorange that would go with it too and I really want to use.

So the last few days I stared at these yarns, through the mist of tears. I calculated meters/yardage. I pulled some more yarns from the stash. Combined. Held them to the light. At night I held them above the sink -the only decent light in the house.

I sketched some squirrels. Browsed other peoples projects with these yarns. Browsed brown sweaters. Browsed ‘woodland’ projects. Queued some of those. Almost bought some Autumn coloured yarn.

The thing is: I have too much of a good thing here. I had to reduce. I had to follow the rules.

I took all the yarns to the bathroommirror and held them to my face. The browns made me look even more ill. So there’s decision nr. 1: no browns near the face. No matter how much I love them.

from there follows design decision nr.2: that leaves white near the face.

That makes me think of the Banana sweater in the beginning of this post -which I renamed Snow Sweater this morning btw- and I don’t want two sweaters that look pretty much the same. So decision nr. 3: differ from Snow Sweater.

nr 3: no stranded yoke. That’s a good idea anyway since stranded yokes make big busted girls look even more butch. Let me just pocket that decision as nr. 4: no more stranded jokes for me, just to make myself feel good about myself.

on I trotted, wondering where this all would lead. I have not enough yarn to make a one-coloured pullover so there must be a colour transition somewhere in the body. I have to think about how that transition will take place: gradually or more abrupt?

I like gradually and I played around with brown frilly oak leaves increasing in numbers as you progress top down. It looks nice but I rather like my oak leaves to be green, not old and brown.

Squirrels are brown! As are hedgehogs. Owls. Deer. Acorns.

pattern on Ravelry here

pattern here on Ravelry

(I’ll be making this mittens for myself this month. Which better has 7 weeks, at last)

pattern here on Ravelry

pattern here on Ravelry

I scattered some of those around, increasing in number when going down. But it did look a bit childish, on paper. A grown women in a sweater covered with cute animals…. I was afraid it would echo those dreadfull sweaters adult women wore in the ’80’s whilst they were trying to express their cuddly sides: the one with bears on them….

………….buy it here……………………………………….buy it here

they did wear them in those days, right? I’m not imagining things, am I?

it wasn’t just Care Bears, it wasn’t just x-mas sweaters, it was all kind of bears for years and years. Preferably with plaids or hearts.

So here’s my final decision: some kind of stylistic woodland stranded pullover. A design that withstands time. I’ve already started sketching and if the papers weren’t upstairs I’d go and show them to you.

is this stylistic enough?

pattern on ravelry

I made an oak leaf-pattern where one half is brown and one half is white. The brown half can be in the white part of the sweater and vice versa, right where the colours border.

much like this logo, come to think of it:

1

But that would make quite a sudden transition of colours, somewhere on the body (have to place it carefully. Not on the breasts, for instance. Ah, decision nr. 6)

We’ll see. I’ll let you know more about the designing process. It keeps me wonderfully distracted when I lie awake or when my mind has found something non-constructive to fret about.

well, thank you for reading. This has been an enjoyable distraction, writing here. Now I will continue with the knitting and the video. That sleeve… the white part has to be knit on needles more 2 (4) sizes down from the stranded part! I’m doing it on 2,5 mm whereas the whole sweater is done on 3,5 mm. I’ve got no idea why but that’s what the knitting told me after I made two attempts resulting in flaring wrist parts. That’s a whole other era in time I do not wish to echo.

4 thoughts on “following: knitting, diet, blogs, yarn

  1. I grew up in the 80’s and 90’s and I had sweaters with bears on them too. I’m so grateful there weren’t any digital cameras and facebook around then!

  2. Mooie eekhoorns die laatste. Voor mij abstract genoeg maar ik lap dan ook alle regels aan mijn laars. Ik draag vrolijk Lopapeysa terwijl mijn schouders nogal……….tja……..ehm………..breed? vlezig? …zijn.
    Downton Abbey ken ik nog niet; op de NaKniMitMo groep loopt er een draadje over, ik moet toch eens de dvd’s op de bieb lenen 🙂

    Misschien kun je vandaag wat zon meepikken; hier schijnt ze volop. Veel sterkte en goede afleiding gewenst.

  3. found your blog today and my goodness, i love it. i’ll be moving to the netherlands (from ny) later this year and you comfort me that there are rockin’ knitters around.

Leave a Reply

