Peabody sweater, knitting in the snow

I’m still hiding from my February Sweater Stientje but I have picked up another sweater I wanted to knit this month, the Peabody Sweater by Leilaa Raabe:

I’m knitting it in the Donegal Soft yarn from Ireland that I bought for comfort after my dyeing accident happened.

It’s dark blue yarn and tweedy and nice and soft. My skeins have quite a bit of vegetable matter in it, I think the sheep were shorn on a nylon sack filled with weat. But batches vary per year and per colour so your batch may be totally free of extra stuff.

I altered the lace panel a the front a bit since I did not want it to be so ‘holey’. But I love the design, with the leaves and the ‘flowers’. It reminds me of ’50s wall paper designs. Or how that memory now inspires us, just look at Rachel Taylor Designs:

22

“’50s floral”, lovely!

Having knit the ribbing on the train the other day and spending days and days swatching untill I found the leafs I thought were perfect,

I began knitting the lace panel yesterday in the evening. But it was too dark, I had to wait for daylight. I finished a pair of socks instead and photographed them on the other cat, who is also dark:

socks in Regia sock, on needles 2mm, modeled by Poekie.

Then I went to bed, looking forward to a new day with some decent light so I could knit on my darkblue Peabody sweater. And boy, did I get daylight:

everything’s covered in snow! Only last week the birds were calling Spring but now everything is silent and white and beautiful. And light.

Peabody Sweater, on needles 4 mm, in Donegal Studio Soft Donegal, colour 5227, dye lot c814.

I do the whole sweater on 4 mm neeldes which means that when transitioning from ribbing to stockinette stitch there needs to be a 10% stitch decrease.

One thought on “Peabody sweater, knitting in the snow

Leave a Reply

