Weird Wool Wednesday: my needles make my yarn bite.

This month I want to knit some fingerless mitts. I have a pattern I like and I did before. So I grabbed some yarn, grabbed the same size needles I used before, casted on the same number of stitches and started knitting:

ooh, aah, 2×2 ribbing and the start of a cable….nice.

Don’t be fooled!

THIS IS A HARSH MITTEN.

This is not a nice mitten. It is not soft at all. It bites your wrists. The mitt is like sandpaper and it will eat your skin and any sleeve it can grab. It will make squirrels hide and quiver in their nests.

but….but…..WHYYYYYYY??

It’s not the yarn, the yarn is soft. It’s from Finland, it likes berries. It is orange. This yarn is good yarn.

It is not the pattern. The pattern hugs your wrists, it loves them. It wants to keep them warm. It has cables. My cat likes it. It is a good pattern.

Must be the needles then. Those pointy pointy sticks of torture!

I have knitted a little swatch with other needles and now the yarn is soft. It was the needles! Naughty naughty needles!

So there you have it:

DON’T KNIT WITH NAUGHTY NEEDLES ON A WEDNESDAY.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

okok, so the new needles are a tad bigger than the old needles and that makes all the difference.

Leave a Reply

