Weird Wool Wednesday: holding on to an ugly duckling

Temptress is finished. I love this shawl so much! It may well be one of the greatest shawls I ever knit. My favourite designer, high end yarn (half silk, half cashmere!) in the colour that flatters me most and with sparkly, quality beads for which I had to wait a few days.

The shawl itself I knit in just six days which is a record for lace, with beading. That’s how much I enjoyed it!

Here it is, pre-blocking:

All it needs is a gentle soak, a surface to be spread upon and 500 pins to stretch it into shape. Then it will become a most beautiful swan! I can’t wait!

Blocking makes lace. It’s a real nice thing to see, lace preblocked and after blocking.

Ravelry as a whole thread with pictures of lace before and after blocking.

Then why have I not blocked my shawl????

I’ve been carrying my duckling shawl and 500 pins with me everywhere I go for 12 days now. I have not blocked (or worn) it. Apparently I can wait… for a swan…

 

2 thoughts on “Weird Wool Wednesday: holding on to an ugly duckling

  1. This is going to be the most amazing swan; I am really looking forward to seeing it in it’s full, blocked, glory. Thank you for such a massive compliment – you have my heart singing! B x

Leave a Reply

