Weird Wool Wednesday: two turtles misbehaving

Indeed when you pull out the wooden bits from the little ball you just spun on your turkle spindle, it is called a turtle. Or a cob.

Two turtles plied together will get you yarn.
For this, just stick them in a tin and start plying.

This is the way you rig up a Louet if it pulls too much:

Some Louets are bobbin driven and this causes pull. Sometimes more than you need. By “lacing” the leader through the hooks you reduce the pull. Now you can spin lace on a Louet. (just lace it a bit more than I did)
Or ply silk that otherwise would cut into my fingers while I treadle just a little longer to get it more twist.

Let’s go turtles!

Oops!

Those darn turtles!
They bounce out of the tin, dance around each other or release bundles of yarn all curled up.

I’m on a steep learning curve here: like any freshly woven single turtles like to rest for a bit before you ply them. Otherwise the twist is still so active on the thread that they all bundle up.
Also: I obviously didn’t spin consistently. There are pieces with more and less twist. Considerable amounts.

Stupid turtle humour

It took me hours to untangle this.
That silk is sticky!

Fellow spinners taught me about a plying ball, where you first roll up the thread of the two turtles into one ball, without twisting them intentionally.
Then you ply from that ball.

Ahh, it’s a steep learning curve.

3 thoughts on “Weird Wool Wednesday: two turtles misbehaving

  1. I have the same problem with misbehaving turtles. If I really care about the yarn, I rewind those little turtles onto a bobbin before I ply. If you have a bobbin winder or spindle attachment for your wheel, it goes really fast.

Leave a Reply

