Reasoning with slow colour changes in a Zauberball

Upon close inspection of my Zauberball I noticed a splice in the yarn:

This is totally acceptable. Yarn breaks in the factory, it happens.

The problem for me in this case is that the colour changes abruptly from pink to green.
Whereas Zauberball is known for its long, smooth colour changes and I want to use this characteristic in my knitwear.

No worries. I’ll just take it into consideration when I chose a project and decide how I’m going to knit it.
It’s a consideration everybody knitting socks with Zauberball faces. Because if you knit something in these types of yarn and you put stitches on hold you get a “hard” break in colours once you pick them up.

The pattern 8 stitches per inch socks by Ann Budd shows this principle in that other sock yarn with slow colour transitions: Noro


In the right sock the light pink stitches were put on hold while the heel flap and the heel were knitted. By the time it was time to pick up the stitches the yarn had transitioned into dark pink.

But it also happens in toe-up patterns, as these Waterfall Socks by Wendy D. Johnson, shows:

A hard break between the blue and the purple where the blue stitches were parked while the heel flap was knitted.

With slow colour transitions you do not want to park stitches anywhere because when you pick them up later on there will be a “hard” colour change.
This is just a normal thing in knitting. One of the fun puzzles to solve!

This is sock pattern Greenwich Village by Rosee Woodland and it solves that problem. The colours flow consistently from leg to foot:

The pattern makes this possible with an afterthought heel:

With conscious use of colours on cuffs, heels and toes. Nice.

The “hard” colour change in my Zauberball I perceive in the same way: a fun puzzle to solve, with a design decision.
I certainly do not blame the manufacturer. Threads break in a factory. They’ve done so from the very beginnings. Back then children were used to tie the knots, because they have such little fingers.
I don’t know who ties the knots in yarn factories nowadays but I don’t expect perfection. Not yet.

For now, I’ll rewind the whole ball so I have a good overview of how the colours go. I’ll make two balls: one from the beginning to the splice and another one from the splice (I’ll break it) to the end. Or to any other splice or knot I encounter. It’s a nice way to get to know the yarn, too. The more I play with it, the more ideas for knitting with it it gives me.

Leave a Reply

