Flip Flop Summer knitting

I’ve started the lace tunic from my own pattern. To try it out. I’m thinking of not putting lace in but embroidering it with a nice fuchsia handspun:

Both yarns are not soft enough to wear next to the skin but as a tunic or pinafore they’re great.
That fuchsia will liven up the dark purple!

The embroidering might be crochet-wise:

Supermitts! by Jacqui Harding, with surface-crochet

or it can be knit-wise:


This is Middlemarch by Miranda Davies, a free pattern in the Knitty.

I like the idea of allowing lace knitting to perform on a stage of stockinette stitches. While knitting it.

(This pattern only has two projects added to the Ravelry database. Such a pity! It’s been on my radar for years now.)

So I’ve started the tunic, at the back panel. I’ve made a provisional cast on and worked the back panel upwards.

Bound off in the middle but continued the cabled shoulder straps towards the front. Then I will cast on for the front panel.
That’s when I have to decide wether to knit a lace pattern or to keep it plain. (We already know that I’ll keep it plain. But I like to pretend I’m still reasoning about it. For one thing: embroidery of any kind will make this tunic an eye catcher. And I already have a lot of eye catchers in my wardrobe. Perhaps I need more plain clothes to function as a base for the other eye catchers to sparkle on?
But plain clothes are not very fun to knit. A fuchsia embroidery tunic is fun to knit. But embroidery takes time, it is not very efficient… I like to get results, fast.

On and on this goes in my head. All the way to the front panel. Without making the definite decisions. Or, to be more honest: without owning up the the decision I’ve already made.)

Anyway.
All these tinkering thoughts are frivolous. Because:


stockinette stitch struggles!

Of course the bottom part curls up. It’s what stockinette stitch does. Once I unravel the provisional cast on and pick up stitches to knit the skirt downwards it will lay flat.

The problem is at the top, where I bound off in the middle.
I ended the panel with a bit of ribbing. Ribbing prevents knitting curling up.
But it doesn’t prevent the transition from st.st. to ribbing to flip.

The dreaded Flipping Border Band.
Techknitter has researched both the vertical and the horizontal phenomenon.
I’m dealing with the horizontal one. It needs fixing.

Here’s a view of the landscape at the moment:
We stare into the distance, looking over purple flat plains that could harbour embroidery of various types.
Our view of the horizon is obstructed by the Majestic Flip Ridge.

All traveling plans towards the front panel and a purple tunic are suspended until we know how to conquer this ridge.

3 thoughts on “Flip Flop Summer knitting

Leave a Reply

