the Day of Wool in pictures

I visited the Day of Wool in Oijen. It’s a yearly event, low key and family friendly and with lots of special things especially appealing to wool people: yarn, roving, fleeces, woven shawls, carding material (boards etc.), felting and workshops for beginners and experienced.

This year we had lovely weather and we all basked in the love for sheep:
vachten

So many fleeces, raw and dyed. Here are some examples and some beautifully dyed mohair, from Wolplantage:
wolplantage

Skeins dyed with plants at Herbana Lana, such beautiful colours. In the back there’s a felting workshop underway.
herbanalana

Wecking Wool? Herbana Lana has fun with this way to dye:
wolwecken

100% Dutch landbreed fleeces of exceptional quality over at Wolkol. In the front for felting, in the back for spinning:
wolkol

Anke from Atelier Anke is focusing on the question from a costumer. She makes beautiful things with needle felting. Check out the sheep’s head at the back! In the front soft Gottland fabric and curls.
atelieranke
There was such lovely atmosphere in all of her products. I bought a cookie cutter in the shape of a mushroom. It was at the beginning of the day, when I still was firm in my resolution not to buy anything wool.

A rainbow of colours at the stand of Aretta Hueff. Dyed and carded Clun Forest and many other breeds. (In the back ground there’s a stand with plant printed garments. Orange = eucalyptus leaves)
arettahueffAretta Hueff also sells lots of second hand books about plant dyeing, traditional embroidery techniques and knitting. Including a favourite of mine: Creative Knitting by Mary Walker Phillips. Such an artiste. Here’s a Rav link. We’re lucky to have a print in Dutch, the book is not so rare over here as the American version is.

Half through the day I had to take a break and rest the nervous system and redistribute blood pressure.
Luckily I brought the knitter’s automobile and my happy new socks!
voeten-uit-window

Other people took a break in the parking lot too. Just laying in the grass, enjoying the Dutch landscape, or admiring each other’s loot. It was such a lovely day!
uitzicht

Inside there was a courtyard, with a “frietkot”: a mobile little home where french fries are fried freshly. In front there were picknick tables to sit at. You just sit at a table whenever there’s room, next to people you do not know who are already seated. Do people do this in the States? You’re pretty much in each others’ personal space…

overview-patat

I guess a shared fondness for wool promotes civility. Because we share these seats in a friendly manner.

And more than that because before you know it you are chatting with the person next to you about what they bought or saw at the fair, sharing tips and showing purchases!
Or, in my case, learning about trout and fishing because my neighbour was reading a fisher’s magazine. He must be a fisher man. With a lovely, wool wielding wife. A good combination.

These are my friends from Wolop, with their rainbow stacks of spinning wool in various breeds. They were looking into the sunlight all day and a bit knackered when I took this picture. But before you knew it we were joking and laughing again! They’re a lovely couple.
Lieneke-en-Joeri

I bought one of her multicoloured BFL rovings. Usually she sells more mono tinted rovings as you can see in the picture. This is so you can combine it with a multicoloured (handspun) yarn and can make lovely combinations. But I fell for the multi coloured roving, hard.

Wolop also has knit examples on the table of each of the different breeds so you can see the handle and how it feels. The BFL had a multi coloured one that stole my heart… so I bought one just like it:

It’s no longer in its tidy braid because I couldn’t wait to pry it open and start thinking about how to spin the colours. I examined the knit example very closely to see how it was spun. It was stripped lengthwise and then spun with medium draft. So the colours did blend but were still distinguisable.
Because all the colours go so well together the resulting yarn and knitwear was varied in colour but still in harmony.

Right at the boot I opened up my roving. Then I played with it some more on my way home, when I parked the car somewhere in the Dutch landscape and had a lovely picknick for one.

For one but not alone! In the boot of the car was my new friend: a Schoonebeeker land breed fleece from Wolkol. Felts while you look at it. Much better than the Dutch Speckled 2013 that’s still waiting for me to finish it… that “Hollands Bont” just won’t felt. It takes forever. (I don’t have forever. This Schoonebeeker you can full a little and then you toss it into the washing machine. You pull out a finished rug. Or so I tell myself.)
vacht

I love the two colours all fibres have: greyish white at the base and dark brown at the tip.

Hopefully today I’ll unfold it and see wether I’ve got enough for a throw on the couch or perhaps even some cushions to go with it.

2 thoughts on “the Day of Wool in pictures

  1. Wat een héérlijke dag!…. Het kàn niet anders of je accu’tje laadt hier uiteindelijk van op (zoiets als: Door Inspanning Ontspanning… 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

