Finished: Cocoberry Cowl in silk

I finished it, it looks splendid!

the pattern is Cocoberry Cowl by Meilindis.
I used 480 m of fingering weight in pure silk, on needles 2,75 mm and I enlarged the pattern, this is a size M or L.

Shoulder detail:

This is a large shawl, it hangs halfway down my back. So somewhere in the middle I stopped increasing and ended the raglans with a nupp-detail.

The back:

with more flowers than the pattern states but I LOVE those flowers, with their nupps.

The front:

It closes with one flap over the other. And then buttons.

I bought buttons for it, while I was in the city. Nice purple lilac pearly accented buttons. But now I can’t find them, grrrr. I’m decluttering the cabin and that always messes up the system.

Silk has more drape and less memory than wool. So this shawl will pretty much hang from my shoulders as it is and not creep back up it, like blocked wool ones tend to do.
The collar however will not stand up on its own. That’s silk for you.

But what a nice colour! And such nice gleam!
It feels delicious. All cool and warm at the same time. And very soft.

I’ll be wearing it, without the buttons, until I find them. Nobody will think this shawl lacks buttons or luxury.

The edge in detail:

Leave a Reply

