More swatching in two toned brioche

I completed the leafs on the end of the previous swatch and was decidedly not satisfied with the loose, messy look of my Brioche stitch. So I went down a couple of sizes and started knitting in 2mm needles instead of 2,75mm. I would have preferred 2,25 mm but I didn’t bring that one to the city. Here’s the result in light green:

I like this fabric! This is the organized look I’m looking for. Crisp. I love the solid colour too.

I tried a bit of two coloured stockinette stitch brioche but in my Double Dutch Technique it drew in quite a bit.
So I left it at that and proceeded to single rows of colours to try and play with slipped stitches:

The slipped stitches were alright, especially when I figured out how to increase properly. The increase on the top left a big hole and that’s why I learned to increase in the stitch below and use both loops of that stitch, not one.

I strongly dislike the resulting colour of this part of the swatch though. One row one colour meshes the colours too close together, it gives too much of a speckled fabric. The slipped stitches/traveling stitches do not stand out enough.

Then I thought about stockinette stitch without the Double Dutch technique. Just the old fashioned way: do one row in one colour, slide the fabric across to the beginning of the needle and do the row again with the other colour. Turn work and repeat.
So that’s what I did. I liked the fabric it yielded so I decided to try the slipped, travelling stitches again. I aimed for diagonals:

The travelling stitch stands out, especially the lighter one.

But knitting like this shows my current concentration problems, with all the slipping the knit stitches back and remembering which colour to use next and guiding the travelling stitches around. That’s why you see a big hole where my travelling stitch came together with a k2tog while at the same time I cabled the same column behind the green slipped stitch line…
I also sometime forget to keep the YO properly at the back. And tension is all over the place. What can I say, my knitting shows my level of concentration abilities. And as I’m having a health set back it shows. But I’m not in full blown ME brain fog, luckily.

Tired from all this fiddling about I was curious about stripes that are not one but two rows high. And if slipped stitches can travel over them:

They can. But it’s not very pretty. I didn’t even try to make them travel diagonally. Brain says no.

So I ended with a few rows of just striped fabric, so I didn’t have to think too hard. Tension problems cleared up significantly. Thank you, brain.

Having found a good way to make horizontal stripes I wondered about vertical ones. To play them off each other.

Stockinette Stitch Brioche gives strong vertical stripes. So I ended the swatching session with the brilliant thought of doing stockinette stitch brioche but with alternate k and p stitches in stead of all k stitches. And in the regular non-double-dutch technique that gives me an even knit fabric:

Right.  I just re-unvented two colour brioche stitch. sigh

It is the kind of fabric I like. And the kind of stripeyness I like. And I know this is the kind of stitch that does well with cabled patterns as I previously knit in Frost on Leaves and Proizd hat. And I love the solid coloured block this swatch started with. And I’ve noticed some fun things to do when transitioning from one kind of stitch to another. So I have plenty to think about now and hopefully the next think will be a small mock up of the shawl I want to knit.

I’ll leave you with a look at the backside, as shown on my favourite model:

Leave a Reply

