Finished: fourth pair of Skews!

Some evening pictures:


I’ll retake these tomorrow.
Later this week I hope to write out the pattern in a blogpost because I’ve modified it now to perfection, even if I do say so myself. And I get a say since I am wearing perfectly fitting Skews at the moment!

They’re modified for my high instep, my slender ankles and my weirdly broad foot/toe.

I knitted the band that runs around the back as long as it needed for me to fit, this was 12 rows more than the pattern stated. I kitchenered over 8 stitched instead of the 12 the pattern proposes.
But then I added another 2 x 6 stitches because I prefer a broader band to hug the backside of the heel.
It was a bit fiddly to get them to meet properly. But I managed and am proud of this:

The dark blue grey line is the piece of yarn that kitchenered the two pieces together.

It started out like this: a big slap of fabric. This is the sole of the sock with the left marker marking the 6 st wide band and the right marker where the heel decreases should be. On the left is also the “mini gusset” which later becomes the other half of the leg stitches and ought to be 36 stitches by then.
On the left, where the round starts, is the 2 st band that travels up the leg. The needle points to where the original beginning of the round was, where you to follow the original pattern.

It’s supposed to fold back on itself at the heelmarker which is at the outer most left side of this picture:

It’s hard to explain when you’re not knitting the pattern. If you are knitting it it all makes sense once you stop trying to wrap your brain around things and just follow the pattern. I still don’t understand the pattern fully. I understand about half of it and played around with the numbers to get to my own version. Which I’ll post later on or, if you read a bit of Dutch too, you can already have a look at my raw notes for the Right Sock on my project page.

I very much like nice details so I paid attention to what kind of increases/decreases went where when the bands split. Just so the bands would be well defined: a 2 stitch band travelling up the leg and the 6 st band travelling along the back of my heel:

At the left some heel decreases are visible. This is the point where the gap was just closed. I’m about to start kitchenering. There are 96 stitches at this moment. But before there were 104!
A normal sock has 64 stitches or perhaps 84 when you’re knitting very tight or have a big foot. The Skewed fabric demands more stitches because it stretches so differently.

Yes, I’m very happy with them. The fit is great!

I wonder if with this last pair my Skew itch is now taken care of. This is the third pair finished in the past two weeks! I’ve got enough socks to wear this Summer, surely?
I’ve figured out my own pattern, that’s an accomplishment.
And I’m back at the cabin and in this environment and this great weather spinning and Spring Brioche Shawl and Sprig and Deco Cardi are very inviting.

But I may have to knit one more pair…. just to be sure my pattern really works. To really establish this new habit. And I did buy one more green striping sock yarn that I’d like to enhance with a solid so I get really hard defined stripes… they would show of the pattern so well!

Lana Grossa Meilenweit Spicy yarn, colour 8202.

And I also have a wonderful handdyed skein that’s been singing to me for a long time now. I think it would be a delight to knit with and yield small stripes that look extremely good in a Skew sock:

Wol met Verve, a great indy yarn dyer.

Well, I’ll sleep on it. And dream of my wonderful Skews. All six of them.

Leave a Reply

