Corespinning on the Countryspinner.

this morning:

One basket gone. One bobbin full.

The fleece was scoured and put through the wool picker last year. This meant that the locks are teased and it’s all nice and fluffy. But they still were discernible from each other and the colours were not mixed.

I corespun them around a thread of fluffy alpaca (Lang Yarn Super Superlight). I could also have used mohair. I made sure the core was covered with fleece every inch of the way because the core is red.

I keep the red thread in a certain way to ease the tension, the wheel has quite a bit of pull and the thread was digging into my skin. I did hack the Countryspinner spinning wheel so its pull can be reduced but this corespinning technique requires minimal twist hence adequate pull.

Also…. my shoulder is piping up. With all the small handmovements corespinning surely is competing with Skew knitting when it comes to shoulder inflammation. I keep better posture while spinning though. So I’m still looking interested to the other two baskets of wool.

Thread from the right, fleece wrapping around it at a near right angle from the left:

Pip, the countryhorse for spinning, gobbling up fluffy yarn:

I plan to keep it as a single and weave it with a warp of white Lang Yarn Alpaca Superlight. Weaving it tightly will keep my handspun from pilling. Because this is a lofty yarn and this fleece wants to break free (doesn’t felt at all).

Lang Yarn Alpaca Superlight is a lovely yarn. It’s a lace but with a halo, you knit it with needles 4 mm or more. It’s one of the few alpaca yarns I don’t sneeze at.
But somehow I do not knit easily with fluffy lace yarns. Nor do I wear the knitwear much.
Which I only found out after I purchased 20 balls of the stuff when it was on sale.

I did try though:

alpaca

Leave a Reply

