I command the knitting!

Spoilers for Mystery Sock pattern Coexist will be featured later on in this post.

This is the Skew sock that got parked and embellished with an annoying little bell:

It’s my Softspoken Skew, in the beautiful colourway 583 from BBB Filati Super Trekking with an extra row of light greyish green every two rows. I was working on the leg but didn’t mind parking it because it needed some pondering anyway.

The thing is I had started the parting of the bands too late. On the inner ankle one band is travelling upwards, the other one towards the back of the heel. Instead of splitting them at 17 cm measured from the toe I did so at 18,5 cm.


Well, what’s half an inch gonna matter? Knitting stretches.
I’m not sure you can see it but the stitches in the middle of the picture, right over my high instep, they sure are stretched.
The same at my ankle. The light spotted part doesn’t look like knitting at ease at all. It stretches more than it ought to.

In fact it stretches so much so that in the time that I took this pictures, my foot got cold.
That’s when you can stop pondering.
That’s when you take control of the knitting.

rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Starting over at 17 cm from the toe, splitting the bands right here and now.

In other news: I finished the Flax Skew right sock. It fits beautifully.
The iPad camery is getting all fuzzy and emotional from how well this sock fits.

Bonus: this frees up a knitting needle!
Lets bring it to the Mystery Sock Coexist.
Yesterday I showed you two cuffs and one had one repeat of the leg on it. I picked up the other cuff and knitted 3 leg repeats onto it:

The shorter sock I didn’t want to knit on much…. and luckily I didn’t have that free needle yet so I wasn’t tempted.
The problem with the sock on the left is that the yarn has much more contrast in it than in the one on the right. I adore the right one! I love that colour.
The left one… not so much.
You can’t see it well in this picture but in real life it’s pretty clear: these are going to be two different socks. Sibling socks. That would annoy me every time I’d put them on.

It is caused because I’m knitting one sock from one end of the skein and the other one from the other end. I don’t know how Chasing Clouds managed to dye it like this. It’s a neat trick but not one I have use for in this pattern.

I raked my brain what to do. I don’t want to finish one whole sock from the inside of the ball and then start the other. I’d have to wait three weeks before I could cast on the second sock! I know what happens to projects I post phone for three weeks…
Neither did I want to wind up enough yarn for one sock now, cut the yarn and start a new sock from the remaining ball. I don’t know how much yarn these socks need. I don’t know where in the skein this contrast starts. Too much variables to ensure I get two similar socks.

Instead I chose to take full control:

I’ve frogged the sock on the left and rewound the yarn back on the ball. Didn’t even soak it to de-crinkle it, rascal me!
At the other sock I’ve cut the yarn (gasp!) and will now be casting on a new second sock with this end of the ball.

When the new installment comes next weekend I’ll proceed to knit on the new sock but when finished I will cut the yarn again and attach it to this existing sock you see here and then knit its heel.

We do have to wait a little before I cast on though because right now I’m weary of all the cabling this leg pattern has. I don’t even like open lace work on my socks! The draft makes me sneeze. This Harry Potter leg pattern has a lot of lacey holes in it…
I’m thinking one of the other leg patterns would look great in this yarn too. I’m thinking Narnia. It has little flowers of holes. Snowflakes.
How similar do I want these socks to be anyway?

Seems like a good plan to knit some more on Skew socks for now. I’ve got a Softspoken Skew ready for some yarn. Crinkled yarn even.

Leave a Reply

