Contiguous Continued

 pic by SusieM, the developer

Contiguous is a really interesting technique, also because developer and students still haven’t unravelled all its secrets. There are still mysteries to be explained.

For example: in finer yarn weights, the neck tends to rise up en the shoulders have a distinctive slope downwards that’s bothering people who have squarish shoulders. This slope is even more pronounced when there are only one or two stitches in the centre of the shoulder.

pic by Raveler Mwaa, who studies this technique thoroughly.

It is caused because at the shoulder length is determined by the height of a stitch whereas at all the panels you’re dealing with the width of stitches. The sharper the turn in direction is (only 1 of 2 shoulder stitches) of the longer the dissimilarity is continued (with thin yarns you make more rows before reaching the shoulder tip) the more pronounced the slope is.

That’s why in some patterns increases are made in the middle of the back panel, to make the neck come down a bit. But where to increase? And how many? And why does this work?
It’s one of the continuous topics of conversation over in the Continuous Group.

Luckily I’m working with thickish yarn and I’ll have reached the tip of the shoulder before the difference gets too pronounced to bother my squarish shoulders.

I have started anew though. I was not happy with how loose the purl stitches were next to the shoulder strip. I hadn’t remembered to pull them tight.
Better start over:

These look good now. No gaping holes.
The increases form a rigid stacked … erm… ridge. This may not be to a knitter’s liking. Too harsh in wearing or too rigid in drape. A solution to this that the people in the Contiguous group have found is to increase one stitch out on the RS (it’s a sort of 1 st cable. It tugs at my purl stitch and that’s really convenient).
But on the WS they increase in the stitch just knitted or about to be knit. Not it’s neighbour.

I tried this too but that wouldn’t pull my p-stitch tight so I opted for the stacked ridge by making every increase one stitch over.

Looking at my newly started cardigan I’ve now found something else I want to fix. I’m dissatisfied with how the cables look. They are too tight and knitting them hurts my hands.

At the neck back I turned the cables every 4rd Right Side Row (RS) I thought.
But knitting the body in the first attempt it seemed they were too loose. You cannot see it clearly in the pictures from last Friday but I could see it very clear in the knitted fabric.
As I was restarting from the neck band anyway I decided to turn the cables more often. On every 2nd RS

I now think this is way too tight. And hurting hands is not good.
I did a bit of swatching and turning every 3rd RS is the golden ticket:

So what will I do? Rip everything out for a second time and start again? Or try and do some “sweater surgery” and unravel only the cables and build them up again. We are talking about four instances with each 3 turned cables.
Two instances are edges, a special nuisance to reknit.
I have a feeling there’s not much time to win by rebuilding the cables instead of reknitting the whole thing. Rebuilding does have the advantage that I don’t have to think about anything else such as placing increases and tugging at the purl-stitches.

Leave a Reply

