Another sock on the wheel

I started another sock fibre on the wheel. This one is a combination of BFL (long fibres) and sparkly Nylon (strength).

It’s a roving from Kleurvol and it’s wonderfully soft. And such vibrant colours! I love spinning it in the sun, after so many soft and harmonious colours the past few weeks.

I’ve divided the roving in two lengthwise so I’ll have two socks with the same colour sequence.
Each part is is divided in two again because I’m making a 2 ply sock yarn. I spin from one end of the colours to the other. Orange to teal.

Usually I go for a 3 ply (rounder yarn, more sturdy) but for that you need four bobbins and I only have 3 for my wheel. Navajo-plying, the other way of making a 3ply that only requires two bobbins, is not a favourite technique of mine. All that waving around, getting your fingers knotted up in singles. Just not relaxed spinning.

My singles have much twist and so does the plying so I’ll get a roundish yarn that’s quite sturdy because each fibre is wrapped around others a few times. You see this in most of my worsted spun yarns, I like yarns that look like a string of pearls.

I found someone on Ravelry who spun a 2 ply from this very fibre mix, also dyed by Kleurvol, and her socks look great and wear well.
I’m already planning to knit them toe up, with toes, heels and cuff knitted from the other end of the ball, in contrasting colours.
Orange toes or teal ones? I’m thinking orange…

Here’s one sock on the bobbin:

Leave a Reply

