Finished: DWD handspun socks

Last year I won a prize in the Tour de Fleece:

A wonderful mix for socks, handdyed by Dutch Wool Diva
42% Wool – Corriedale
42% bfl
15% Manufactured Fibers – Nylon

All fibres are blended together. I spun it into a 3 ply in August 2014, sitting outside. Explaining how you can lace up a vintage Louet (like an S10) to spin really thin.

320 m sockyarn:

A nice round yarn. Soft, well plied. I’m happy with the spinning, it turned out just as I wanted.

September 2014 came around and I started Water Cycle socks straight away, a pattern by Tami Sheiffer. Today I cast off:

There are patterns for waves, vapour and raindrops in the socks.
I’ve put these into hibernation in October, when all I had to do was think up a cuff that represents clouds. I also wanted to knit them until I ran out of yarn, making the socks knee high.
These two ambitions were enough to make me fold when I ran out of steam and had only willpower to go on.
I was also pained by my shoulder which has come a long way now that I keep a better posture and a looser gauge.

Today I picked them up again and didn’t remember the ambitions. I wanted the needle they’re on. And I wanted to wear these socks.
So I put in the border I like so much:
1) *p3, k1*
2) *p3, sl1*
and bind off.

used 240 m on needles 2,5 mm. Toe up.

Look how nice the border fits the pattern:

2 thoughts on “Finished: DWD handspun socks

  1. Hola! I’ve been reading your blog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and
    give you a shout out from Austin Texas! Just wanted to tell
    you keep up the good job!

    • Hi Jimmy, thank you so much for your comment! Statistics tell me there are about 40 people reading this blog regularly and it’s so nice to hear that you actually enjoy it. You getting courageous made my day!

Leave a Reply

