finishing Holle Cardigan, my sturdy eyelet button hole and updates on previous tops.

I spend some time carefully finishing Holle Cardi. It needed a good button hole to go with 1×1 ribbing. (*Ktbl, p* ribbing at that); an icord all around and blocking (after I pluck away all the cat hair it has attracted).

GOOD BUTTON HOLES FOR 1×1 RIBBING
For a good button hole I searched Ravelry and found a thread asking this very question that was started 19 months ago.

The One Row Button Hole Tutorial by Neoknits was recommended. This feels like a very intuitive correct button hole so I’m trying it out. It’s really good! Another good one is the Tulips button hole by Techknitter. It specifically reinforces the sides and top.

For Holle Cardi I have itty bitty tiny buttons, they’re really more studs than buttons.
I tweaked the one row button hole a bit to make it even smaller, a sturdy eyelet button hole:

That’s a good button hole.
Bottom, sides and top are reinforced. It won’t “lubber”(… what’s that called in English? “grow loose and flappy”?)

TUTORIAL for my ONE ROW ONE STITCH BUTTON HOLE in *Ktbl,p* 1×1 RIBBING:

  1. wrap p-stitch (slip it, don’t knit it)
  2. pick up strand and knit it
  3. put needle into next two stitches (one is twisted, on p stitch), knit them together right to left (this is a ssk manner I suppose, I’m doing continental so it works out differently for me)
  4. slip previous knitted stitch over
  5. This is the bottom of one hole doneOn the next row:
  6. turn work and from the right side: cable cast on 3 stitches
  7. take next stitch (don’t knit it, this is the wrapped but unknit p-stitch from the previous row) and slip last new stitch over this unknitted stitchOn the next row:
  8. adjust stitch count at each button hole: k first 2 stitches of the button hole top together.

In pictures:
WRAPPING THE P-stitch: slipping the stitch to and fro while wrapping the yarn around it.




PICKING UP THE STRAND after the wrapped p-stitch:

KNITTING THE FOLLOWING STITCHES TOGETHER ssk-wise:

That’s the bottom of the button hole done.
I didn’t take pictures from the top part :s

But it goes like this: you knit the stitch before the wrapped p-stitch and you increase 3 stitches in that, cable cast on wise. (do this with the right side facing you for a neat looking result.) Then you take the third newly created stitch and slip it over that wrapped p-stitch from the previous row. Poor p-stitch, still not knitted!
That’s the top (almost) done.
On the next row you knit together that wrapped p-stitch with the second cable cast on stitch from the top part. It finally got knitted, pfew.

FINISHED REINFORCED EYELET BUTTON HOLE under an i-cord. FRONT:

BACK:

Holle Cardi I-CORD
I then gave the front and neck part an i-cord as per pattern (Colors of Kauai by Hanna Maciejewska, paid for pattern)
After that I continued it on one side of the button band and went back to the other one because I found the button bands looked better with an icord finish at the hem.
Before:

After:

I’m still busy picking cat hairs away from the cardu but I hope to block it this weekend and then sew on my studs next week and show you my finished cardigan. But it already feels finished!

Updates on the other two garments that felt “finished” but weren’t: Petrie Shell and Pumpkin Ale.

PETRIE SHELL
Because I have to pace energy and the enduring of impulses carefully I couldn’t just go out last week and buy cross grain ribbon for Petrie Shell. But I did look around the house and found some curtain ribbon. That band that you can put hooks in. “Wrinkle band”? It’s wide enough and stiff enough:

I sewed it in, while closing the knitted edging with a three needle bindoff.
But the ribbon is white and it shines through the dark blue knitting. It looked aweful.
I took it out and resolved to go look for something dark at the next opportunity I had. Which was last Wednesday when I managed to walk into the city centre, to the market. There’s a notions stall there. They didn’t have cross grain ribbon but I found a bit of black stiff elastic band which will do fine I think.

The only thing is: when I tried the Petrie Shell on to see how the white ribbon would look I found that the fit didn’t please me. I’m not sure exactly how or what, I need to try it on again to see and think about solutions.
But overall, it just didn’t look sophisticated enough to wear in the city. The shoulders were too bare. The boat neck cut into my throat. There were some serious issues I didn’t feel like looking into at that time.
So Petrie Shell has been parked (in my wool closet in the city) and now that I have the black ribbon I can try it on and see what’s what. That’s planned for next week.

PUMPKIN ALE CARDIGAN
Previous weekend I’ve worn Pumpkin Ale to the Knitters’ party! Even though it was a scorching hot Summer’s Day and it still had massive holes in the pockets, I was wearing it and showing it to my friends. I got many compliments and I was very glad to because I was still a bit shy about the fit (with it’s short back and unpleasant arm holes and me butchering the yarn thickness and probably the pattern) but that’s all alright now. They said it looked good and I don’t think they were being polite.

My friends who know the pattern, the Wollmeise yarn and/or this specific colour where especially appreciative and that means a lot to me. One always learns so much from expert’s opinions.

This weekend I hope to raid my fabric stash and find some fabric for the lining of the pockets and hopefully sew them in too. (I could have knitted the rest of the pockets with the remaining yarn but I’d already set my mind on getting these cuffs in that yarn:


These are Keep Warm Wristwarmers by LondonLeo, a free pattern.

The cabling echos the cables of Pumpkin Ale Cardigan. Especially when you cross the center cable in the middle, which I did:

But at this point my shoulder started to protest and I once again resigned that I should not knit fiddly small things. No cables. No small objects on small needles.

I guess that means that the gloves that Tilly Trout podcasts makes me want to knit are out too? She made these last year, in self striping yarn, and they just make me smile and giggle inside 🙂

Tilly Trout’s Good old fashioned proper gloves in Opal sockyarn colour 8617 Cake pops.

I once made a pair like these and I’d really would like another pair. For smiles and inside giggles!
Have a look at my Party Paws:

That’s me, back in Winter 2009/2010 when I was really ill, mostly bed bound. My nose was cold all the time! I think this was New Year’s Eve and I had just knit that nose-cosy to go and have a look outside 🙂
The gloves are knit in some weird, fluffy, self striping sport weight:

Party paws indeed!
Knit in sportsweight, on fairly big needles, no cables. Surely not too fiddly for my shoulder to knit again?

I’ve put them on my list for next year, thinking about a pair like this already makes me smile. A nice invitation to buy some giggly selfstriping 6 ply yarn next time I’m in a wool shop. 🙂
Always plan ahead for the eventuality that you find yourself in a yarn shop.

Leave a Reply

