Day 1 at the cabin

Day one at the cabin and I’ve been so productive, woolwise!

First thing I did when we came through the door, released the cats and sat down with a cup of tea was rip back half of what I knit in the car:

Because I had already started increasing for the calf of the Noro legwarmer. Forgetting this legwarmer should stack and therefor should remain the same sized tube for a quite a bit longer.

That’s one handful of two strands all twisted together, ready to be reknit. Lots of untwisting and trying to free yarn.
Knitting stripes with Noro isn’t something that happens naturally anyway, I have to break the yarn and skip parts if the two colours will look the same for too long and then have to look ahead and match colours again. Quite a bit of colour reasoning needed, when knitting Noro.

After this and my cup of tea I had to unpack our bags and was greeted by my green dyeing pan, neatly parked under the coffee table for two weeks. It had faithfully harboured my bags of plant dyeing experiments. Opening those would be “interesting”. I took it outside.


Hmmm, growing spores and all possible sorts of new medicines.

Do you have the word “smurrie” in your language? It is akin to “smear” and I guess there’s a bit of “slurry” in there too. Made from decayed plants whose textures melt when touched.
There you go, you now know exactly what I mean by “a pan full of green smurrie” and what I had to put my hands into!
Ew.

I took the bits of wool out of the bags -taking care to avoid skin contact with that one bag of Cow’s Parsley/ Bear Claw- and let them dry in the wind, each with their little cotton thread bound around it. That’s the thread with a code in knots to tell me which plant dyed what colour. No need to break the code though, it’s clear that each thread reads: “this plant dyes yellow”.


Except Pimpernel, that one dyes reddish brown.

I then washed my pan and I had a look at the iron afterbath that I’ve been curing:

Nice orange “smurrie”!
Not touching it.

Then I went inside, washed my hands and blocked Holle Cardi!

Can’t wait until it’s dry. If it fits I may have weird arms…

Having now only one cardigan on the needles (that needs major sleeve surgery (again!)) and being exhausted from all these wool adventures I then laid on the couch for the remainder of the day and did the only thing one can do when one’s reconnected with the stash again: cast on for a new cardigan, with a yarn one’s never tried.

I chose Wollmeise Lace, in the colourway Arlene.
WM Lace is more of a light fingering weight than a true lace, there are 1500 m on one skein (300 grams). In theory I can get one cardi from one skein:


Arlene is a multi-colour way but the brown, blues and purples are so close in darkness that I think I’ll like it anyway.
I’m knitting this one on 2 mm needles too because it doesn’t seem matter if I’m using WM DK, fingering or lace, I always get 21 stitches to the 10 cm on 2 mm needles.

I chose pattern Emma cardigan, by Janine Le Cras:

It has a lacy bottom half and this is excellent for multicoloured or pooling yarns.
But before casting on I still had to follow through some reasoning:

Premisse: this is a dark yarn and a light weight yarn.

  1. The weight will make this a light type of cardigan, not very warm. A Summer cardigan. Do I need one of those? (Not in particular). Will I wear it? (Yes.)
  2. Will a dark coloured garment complement my complexion in Summer? (Yes.)
  3. The lace in the pattern means it will be distinctively see-through so I better wear something in the mid or dark tone under it, preferable a non-patterned garment. Do I have such a garment in my Summer wardrobe? (No I don’t.)
  4. Can I make one? (Yes.) Better sew up a Summer dress for Summer 2016 in the right colour to go with my new cardigan. Seeing how well Pumpkin Ale goes with Arlene I already have some perfect fabric in my stash. One that will go great with Pumpkin Ale too. 🙂

I’m really looking forward to how an empire waist will look on my body. I do need a garment to flow inwards at the underbust -which is why people like me should not wear shift dresses- and I think this pattern will do me right.

Here’s me in a shift dress: no shaping at the front.

You’d think I have large stomach but I’m probably hiding some of the stash under there…

It wears comfortable though, a shift dress. I tell/kid myself that through movement and souple fabric my body shows that my stomach is indeed not as wide as my bust, which is what this dress leads you to believe.

But some shaping at the underbust would be better. So I’m really looking forward how Emma cardigan will do this.

Then, right before bed, I did a little bit of spinning because I’ve been missing my wheel for two weeks and I’d just brought the Spring Rolls with me from the city (we drove here in a small blueberry, this was the only fibre there was room for):

It’s going to be a thin n-ply because I’m totally smitten with the mittens Serafina145 made from these exact kind of rolls:

Serafina145’s Mitts for a cup of tea, gorgeous! Pattern Burning Love Fingerless mitts by Dutch Mama.

Serafina145 also has a cup of tea to go with her yarn:

A beautiful and inspiring project from start to finish!

4 thoughts on “Day 1 at the cabin

Leave a Reply

