Weird Wool Wednesday: Hipster Wool Soup.

Untitled

I’m cooking something hot hot HOT. The water is so hot I need to wear gloves and I use a bamboo spoon to handle the goodies.

Ready:

Untitled

It’s the glorious Noble Holst yarn!
By washing it very hot before knitting it looses all the spinning oil. The oil was added to make the fibres run smoothly through the machines in the yarn factory.

It’s ok to knit with yarn that has spinning oil in it, you can wash it out later. But I’m a sensitive wuss, somehow when I knit with these yarns I lay awake at night. Can’t explain why. Won’t argue with my body about it though. It’s just something I’ve noticed and now I work around it.

To get rid of spinning oils: fill a container with a piping hot soapy water. Washing up soap is the best, it destroys fats much better than washing liquid.

Put the wools in and let stand for 20 minutes. You can swish them around a bit, make sure everything is wet and soap gets everywhere. But don’t stir too much, otherwise the wool will felt.

Now fill another container with just as hot water, but no soap. Lift the wools from one container to the other. The trick to prevent felting is to coax the wool into a sense of safety: no sudden changes from hot to cold and no rubbing or vigorous squeezing. Nor throwing the wools about.

Change hot waters once more.

Now lift the wools out of the water and leave them in an empty container to cool off. Don’t mind that they’re still wet. Once they’ve cooled down, also on the folded inward parts, they can be put into the spin cycle of the washing machine. This cycle does throw the wools about so it’s very important there’s no soap or lukewarm temperature left in the wool. Otherwise the machine will be felting for you.

The other thing in my wool soup:

Untitled;

Woolen longsleeves and trousers. Pants? Undergarments. Long johns? Warm thingies, for warmth.
The blue is a 100% Merino top, a try out. Won’t use it much, it is too short. The white ones are 70% Merino, 30% silk.

I used to have a set like these, the wool silk mix, when I lived in Norway. They are excellent for wearing under your wetsuit, when you’re out kayaking. The point of kayaking in Norway is not to fall into the fjord at any time because that’s really dangerous but floating on the fjord you’ll be sweating and that’s dangerous too. These woolen garments are excellent for keeping you warm even if they get wet.

Will I be doing any kayaking in a Norwegian fjord I hear you ask.

No.

But I will be at this fair next week:

It’s a Midwinter Wool Fair. Specializing in all things woolly: wool, spinning, knitting, crocheting, felting and weaving.
I’ve never been but I love winter fairs. And wool!
I’ll be helping Wolop in her stall full of woolly goodness. We’ll be there two full days.

Here are pictures from last year’s Fair.

The fair is held at a horse riding facility, in their biggest indoor paddock. No heating. Fine dust on the floor. This will be hosed down to prevent it stirring up, I think. This will make it very, very cold in the barn. And we’re not allowed to bring our heater or water cooker.

pic by Daan Meeuwsen

So we need a lot of provisions to keep us warm!
Tea. Drumsticks. Curry. Chocolate. And lots of wools to wear. Luckily we have some of that, yessiree, we do happen to have some wools to wear.
We have things and materials and skills hipsters haven’t even discovered yet!
We’ll be bringing sweaters and hats and mittens and legwarmers and fleeces to sit on. And woolen undergarments!

You know the fun part of ordering these garments?
I’ve ordered children sizes and saved myself a lot of money!
On average I can fit in the largest size for children: 164/176. Especially when it’s boys clothing because girls’ clothing nowadays all has to be tight and flimsy and cold. And without pockets. But how girls don’t get to wear normal clothes is a rant for another day. For now I know I fit in these sizes and those are what I ordered.
The blue one is 164, which is too short in both the bodice and the sleeves. Oh well, something learned.
The white ones are 176 and they are perfect!

And they’re made of plain white wool and silk. Which takes on dye so very well. Or so I’ve heard. *eyebrow wiggle*.
The next 10 days I don’t have time (or the tools) to dye them but I certainly will do so in the new year. Isn’t that great?
Cheap garments of good materials that you can customize, with a long tradition and that keep you warm and happy!
I should grow knit a beard and learn to drink artisanal coffee.

I love wool. Especially when I get to have fun with it.

Wolop:

Leave a Reply

