Midwinter Sock

At the fair I bought glittery sock yarn from Het Wolbeest:

420 m of well plied, round yarn.

I started winding by hand right then and there:

Our neighbour from Wolinhuis spotted me and handed me a skeinwinder and a container to keep the half ball in:

(We were standing on this plastic, it had cardboard boxes underneath, to keep our boots from the cold sand of the horse paddock)

much better idea, a yarn cake will knit up more comfortably:

cast on at the fair: a figure 8 cast on and knitting all stitches twisted in the first round. I cast on 2 x 14 stitches:

I got a little bit of knitting done that Saturday.

And a little bit of knitting at a rest stop on our way home on Sunday:

A little bit of knitting at Wolop’s house, before I travelled on to my own:

First I needed to free it from the WIPbag though:

sparkly sparkly!
I’m using the free pattern Sokbasis from Janneke Maat , a well edited pattern in Dutch detailing toe up socks.

At home:

Two days of resting and knitting et voilá!

One sock done!

The cuff is from sock pattern Blattwerk by Stephanie van der Linden:


This paid for pattern was released in online magazine Twist Collective in 2009. I only bought it yesterday and I was very annoyed to find that the pattern did not have the errata incorporated into it, after all this time and still at full price.

As a result I knitted the cuff wrong, the lower leafs are not leafs but diamonds.
It’s mentioned on the pattern page on Ravelry that there are errata but it’s a rather inconspicuous remark and I’d think it a small effort to amend the chart in the pattern somewhere in the past 6 years.

I love the pattern though, with its leaves and its mock cable. That’s my favourite mock cable, the “koffieboontje” I think!

The sock is festive, with all the colours and the sparkle. It’s also more green overall than the picture shows. I love the glitter and how round the yarn is! Casting on for the second sock now.

Leave a Reply

