onion socks: Tears of Laughter

I got a beautifully dyed skein of sock yarn from Wolop:

It’s dyed with onion peels. From red onions. Because they give green.
(White onions dye yellow. Obviously)

They were dyed in a jar in the window sill. With water, peels and a bit of alum. Just leave it for a bit, like a few weeks, occasionally turning the jar. It’s called solar dyeing. Whodathunk? So easy!

Wolop brought one of her jars to the fair and it was a great conversation piece. Here it is, on the right:

Midwinterwol 2015

This one has regular white onion peels in it and is dyeing yellow. Obviously.

The colour of my skein is marvellous! So intens and so happy.
It’s the very reason I bought sock pattern Blattwerk by Stephanie van der Linden:

I’ve casted on and am having a blast knitting it. The colour, the pattern, the memories of the fair:

This is where I am this morning:

I’m even wearing a matching longsleeve! For someone who proclaims to be in a silvery grey phase I sure do enjoy my intense ochres…

PS I’ve written about it before but plant dyes may not be light fast? That’s when I’ll dunk my socks in a fresh jar and put them in the window sill for a bit.

Image a window sill filled with jars with all different colours, sun light sparkling through. Knitters are awesome home decorators.

Leave a Reply

