Bought at the Fair: a Real Shetland Throw

This old picture shows I had been working on my handspun Shetland/Blue Texel throw/shawl/blanket. But for a while now I’m not sure how to proceed. Connecting the parts which are bias knitted and attaching a border to bias knit planes makes me a bit unsure because bias knit has a different stretchiness then regular knit and I don’t know which stitch to use or which ratio for picking up stitches when attaching perpendicular knitting such as an icord.

It’s not a difficult puzzle to solve. Mostly it just involves some trial and error. I also had some advise this week (attach parts with a zig zag stitch instead of a mattress stitch.) But the fact that the puzzle is there in the first place made me deflect to easier knits, casting on new knits and spending time writing long blog posts and watching David Armand mime songs in funny ways.

Still I’d like some warm Shetland/Blue Texel to wrap around my knees at night. I’ve been wearing parts of the handknit but it’s not working very well.

Then, at the fair of Midwinterwol, there was a vendor selling 100% Shetland blankets at a great offer:

 Pounds for euro’s! In a nice light colourway. All undyed wool. Natural product. Sturdy yet warm. Nice bloke. Good story. Lovely occasion with great atmosphere.

That’s why I came home with a Shetland throw even though I have a handmade one that’s nearly finished.

The vendor is Real Shetland Company

With Shetland there’s a bit of a thing where we can argue if something is real Shetland because it’s made from the sheep breed Shetland or if it’s more real because it comes from the Shetland Islands with its distinguished traditions in knitwear and Shetland sheep. Or if it’s the most reallest if it comes from Shetland, is made from local Shetland wool and is also sold by local people.

Real Shetland Company takes a stand in this topic and writes on their site:
“We directly support over 800 Shetland Crofters (sheep farmers) on the Islands as well as supplying Jamieson and Smith (Shetland Wool Brokers) with a wide selection of our woven goods for them to sell in their shop in Lerwick, the capital and main port of the Shetland Islands.”

The Real Shetland Company buys their raw wool from Shetland sheep flocks on the Shetland Islands and processes it in a factory in Yorkshire (which is on the main UK island) in a plant that’s very environmentally friendly (but whose site is still embryonic in information).

Either way I came home with a good product. And it was recognized as such by the experts:
lazy cats in knitting
lazy cats in knittinglazy cats in knitting

Yep. I’d better finish my own Shetland blanket if I want something to wrap around me.

And if you can’t hog a Shetland throw, use that soft natural wool from Sweden as a pillow:lazy cats in knitting
Suggesting strongly that I knit on something else for a while. For instance my Shetland/Blue Texel blanket.

Really.

Leave a Reply

