Advent socks: stranded at the knitters’ party

I finished my socks last night:

I ran out of green yarn with the second sock. Hence the stripey toe.

The cuff was knitted on 2,5 mm because I feared I would knit stranded too tight.
The heel was done on 2 mm because tighter knit makes for a sturdier fabric.
For the gusset I then forgot to change back to bigger needles and it was very visible and also too tight over the instep:

So I had to rip back one sock back to where I pick up the stitches for the gusset. The other sock I had messed up by making the heel flap too short and it sat akward on my foot, so that one had to be ripped back too.
This was how Christmas looked over at my place:


Plus nice food and a film.

The feet were knitted with 2,25 mm. Mainly because I convinced myself I’d never knit a sock with 72 stitches on 2,5 mm, surely that would be way too loose. It was only when I got up to get the needle Trude lend me to knit at two socks simultaneously -one needs more rounds of plain stockinette when the Dr. Who Special is on- that I realized my mistake.
But the feet look good so I finished them on 2,25 mm needles, even with the stranding. I did keep an increased stitch count for the duration of the instep: 76 instead of 72.

Now I don’t understand socks at all anymore. I usually have 60 stitches on 2 mm needles. Here are socks with 72 or even 76 stitches on 2,25 mm needles and they fit great. It cannot just be the faux cables, those are negated by loose purl stitches at their sides.
Never mind. I’ll just stop and try to UNDERSTAND it. Don’t try and outsmart knitting. Stop knitting with your head, you silly.

Hey, I can do stranded knitting. In socks!

I did the stranded part of the second sock during the knitters’ party yesterday. It was a nice party!
Lots of spinners and treats and knitting slippers:

Untitled

Meilindis brought a gift of genius:

Untitled

It’s folded papers interlocking and it is a hollow sphere. In silvery, light, green papers.
3D shaping and maths and colours and magic? Origami! More of her paper and fibre creations on her site.

One thought on “Advent socks: stranded at the knitters’ party

  1. Pingback: Wool party – Making stuff

Leave a Reply

