Not finished with Temptress Shawl yet…

I’ve bound her off. Lots and lots of picots.

Haven’t blocked yet. Because…. I’m thinking that the edge might be too frilly.

I have been wearing it around the house today though 🙂

For this shawl pattern, Temptress by Boo Knits, this picture has always been my inspiration picture:

It’s Booknits’ own shawl, “thuggisly” blocked, as she likes to put it.

Looking at the edge I now realize that that blocking evens out the picots.

And somehow I also always thought there were beads worked into the bind off too. One in every “icicle” (I’d love that), but there aren’t.

In the pattern Booknits gives some pointers to how she binds off: co 2 stitches not too loose. Bind them off a little tight too. The third bind off  is loose.

I think I cast on and bound off too loose. I’ve got frills. And they will stay, if my first Temptress is anything to go by.

My first Temptress in blue was blocked when finished a few years ago and has been worn and thrown about since then. The frilly picots are still there.

So I’m wearing my unblocked Temptress and looking at it from time to time trying to make up my mind. Block it and live with the frills? Or undo the bindoff and redo it?

In the mean time I’m basking in the beauty of it. It’s so soft and gleamy and I LOVE the colour and the beads!

.

.

.

.

.

I don’t want the frills.

.

.

.

.

I’m going to redo the bind off.

But not right away. I want to wear this colour for a bit, think of nightly coloured Aquilegias and Spring:

Leave a Reply

