Wolspektakel Kerkrade

Yesterday I took a train and went to the south of the country and visit a new wool fest: Wolspektakel in the town of Kerkrade.

The weather was glorious, I took a first class upgrade and brought a cuff (or two) on the needles. Pleasant travels!

First I passed the city of Eindhoven just as I cast off the first of my cuffs, made in Drops Fabel:
Untitled

Then I passed Weert and was working on my second cuff:
Untitled

As the train travelled through the province of Limburg strange things appeared in the landscape:
Wolspektakel kerkrade
“A hill.”

The landscape in Limburg is remarkable! Lots of things happening at a small scale: small fields, small patches of wood, unregulated nature. So much to see!
Lots of history too such as Catholic cloisters, mine worker buildings and beautiful old farm houses, with brick fences.
Wolspektakel kerkrade

The fair was held in Kerkrade town square:
Wolspektakel kerkrade
Wolspektakel kerkrade
Wolspektakel kerkrade

Mr. Vossen was clipping his Limburg landbreed; Oost Mergelland Schaap:
Wolspektakel kerkrade

Mergel is the calcium rich soil for which the region is known, I think it’s called “Marl” in English. It hosts all kinds of unique flora. And the unique fauna that follows:
 two pics from the Breeding Mergelland Sheep Association
Wolspektakel kerkrade
Mr. Vossen loved explaining everything. He was so friendly! He clipped these sheep by hand, with clippers. A low impact, relatively stress free and silent way of shearing.

Atelier Het Wolbeest had a booth:
Wolspektakel kerkrade
Wolspektakel kerkrade
Kerkrade is very close to their headquarters. (Headquarters which involve an Italian Icecream parlour!!)
In June there’s a workshop to learn and felt one of these handpuppets in one day. Icecream included.

I brought my hat which I had given appropriate decoration:
Wolspektakel kerkrade
It looks like handspun but it’s actually a commercial yarn, a souvenir from Argentina, from my parents.

Having read yesterday’s post my friend gave me a lovely stitchmarker which came in handy right away:
Wolspektakel kerkrade
Accessory for the Knitting Cat Lady!

After such lovely day of leisure I went back en route to Brabant.
I worked on my cuff and petted a skein of yarn that Het Wolbeest had custom dyed for me:
Wolspektakel kerkrade
Greyish purple. With glitter! I had given her a ball of Wollmeise Mauzenschwanzen as inspiration and she did a wonderful job!

Passing Weert again, showing it how far I got with the new wrist cuff that I cast on in Kerkrade:
Wolspektakel kerkrade

Then passing Eindhoven showing it my new skein:
Wolspektakel kerkrade

While I was in Limburg the Eindhoven football team PSV -Philips Sport Association, the same Philips you know from electrical appliances and light elements- won the national championship in the final minutes of the game.


Somehow this was tied to another game that was played by the proposed champion Ajax, the Amsterdam football club. They were supposed to win but then they didn’t and PSV won.

PSV hometown Eindhoven went mad with celebrations:

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 10.31.51
So then supporters from the Amsterdam football club Ajax travelled to Eindhoven, by train, to go yell at them and stir things up.

But authorities noticed them in the 75 minutes it takes to travel from Amsterdam to Eindhoven. Arriving at the station they then were contained at the train platform, with a cordon of police between them and the city. You can see all the yellow police bobble heads in the distance:

Wolspektakel kerkrade

Yeah, that’s how we rebel over here: travel by train to another city to yell at people who are celebrating far away in the town centre.

I shook my new yarn at them.

 

2 thoughts on “Wolspektakel Kerkrade

  1. “That is how we rebel”, LOL. Your posts always make me smile :). The Woolfest looks awesome, I hope that they organize it again next year so I can go see for myself what it is like :).

  2. Wat een leuke dag en reis heb je gehad 🙂 En ook nog bijgehouden wat er elders gebeurde !…
    En prachtige souvenirs meegenomen 🙂

Leave a Reply

