Finished: Weaving Manos Silk Blend

I finished the silk scarf:

But let me start from the beginning:

I warped the loom with Manos del Uruquay Silk Blend, colour Abalone or Europa. I’ll use one skein for the warp and one for the weft. Each skein has 150 yards on it, it’s a DK weight made of 80% Merino and 20% silk.

My skeins have knots!

It’s ok if it’s in the skein for the weft but in the warp it presents problems. The knot will not go through the heddle and it messes with tension:

Both skeins had knots in them. I’m not impressed at all, this yarn is expensive!

Anyway. All things tight in the appropriate ways to my rigid heddle loom, by Glimakra. Ready for weaving:

I had calculated how wide and how long it could be, given the yardage on the skeins. But reality is always different. In the end I just went with how wide I wanted my scarf to be: not wider than 25 cm. Not smaller than 20 m. And at least a m long.

Weaving now! Oh, it looks so pretty:

I’m trying to “make squares”. My warp/heddle has 4 threads per 1 cm. But when weaving I find I like to beat the threads a bit more closer together. 5 or even 6 threads per cm. I try to refrain from doing so, remembering that the warp here is still under tension. When it’s finished and has had a bath it will look different. It will stack the woven threads more together, I’m guessing.

So there I was, weaving, weaving. Enjoying the colours, the material. Trying not to scratch the tabletop with my loom (put a plastic coaster in between)

Then: “Oh! I’ve woven the whole skein in the weft already! I’m done?”

Haha, no I’m not! I’m being smart: there’s still quite a bit of warp left, why not cut some off and use the leftovers as weft?

Hahah! That’s right, use the luxury yarn baby! Just tie the warp that’s left at the back of the heddle and you’re good to go:

I’m brilliant in theory, once again. In reality not so much: with the warp knotted like this you cannot use the heddle to separate every other thread from its neighbour. Instead I have to guide the weft thread under and over every separate thread. Like weaving with a darning needel.

How smart am I? Well, about as smart as I am patient. “This scarf is long enough as is. I’m not knotting any more threads and certainly not weaving by hand and needle.”

Finishing now with a hem stitch, via tutorial from Purl Soho:

The only difference is that I go three downwards and three to the left instead of four (after I’ve wrapped around four strands). I poke the needle through the third and fourth wrapped warp thread instead of after the fourth and before the first from the new wrap. I like it that way.

Now it’s had a bath. Letting it dry in the sun as I write this:

Woosh! Wind! As shown by some frogged project yarn that’s also had a bath:

Silk scarf now intimately entangled with rose thorns from Austin rose Glamis Castle. Gotta love nature.

The fabric has filled up nicely with the bath and the release from the loom’s tension. It’s a beautiful fabric:

The silk gleams! The weaving has “squared up” nicely.

There is pooling going on and the shawl is way more variegated than the example I saw on Ravelry and love so much. This is in the shade:

But it’s a lovely, luxury item that will go well with all my new colours. I’m sure it has a place in my wardrobe. Wear it with a handmade silver coloured shawl pin…. beautiful!

Heehee! It already goes well with what I’m wearing at the moment: olive coloured linnen trousers and Wollmeise Mauseschwanzen:

Nice to know I can tone down the pooling or the contrast.

One thought on “Finished: Weaving Manos Silk Blend

Leave a Reply

