Done with cuffs! Or am I?

I’m done knitting cuffs! This is the lot:

Nine pairs.

And one lonesome Dutch Knitting Design silver Krokus cuff hiding behind my cup of tea. It’s solo because I haven’t run into one of the many balls I know I have of this yarn. They must all be at the cabin.

These are the “spikkelcuffs”, from the miniskeins from indydyer Wol met Verve:

Such nice, round yarn. It’s 100% Merino, no nylon addition and not suitable for socks.

Each has one knitted top down (on the left) and one bottom up (the ones on the right). Done because I was afraid I’d run out of yarn. The difference shows in the top edging. I prefer the look of the ones that go top down.

There’s one handspun pair. That’s also knitted bottom up, because I wasn’t sure about the gauge:

It’s from Dutch Wool Diva sockfibre, left over from my nice handspun socks:

These ones are from one of the newly arrived Fabel sockyarn:

Which I chose for its colours. They are not so nice…. the yarn is scratchy. Not like the yarn I know as Fabel. The thread is not as round nor plied as it used to be. This yarn is more scratchy, more hairy and more loose. Fabel must have changed supplier or something. I don’t think I’ll wear these much…

Now these are a delight to wear:

Wol met Verve sock yarn. A nice, round, well plied and soft yarn. Even though it has 20% polyamide it’s still so soft you could knit a shawl from this and wear it next to your skin. Many people do.

The handdyed yarn from Chasing Clouds. The one I was failing to knit with dark brown into stranded cuffs. I frogged them and let the yarn shine on its own:

It’s out of my colour palette but it will be a nice pair or when I feel treehugging natur-y in the end of Summer/ begin of Autumn. They’re also a bit sturdy, being a sock yarn. But not scratchy, luckily.

I’ve changed the pattern slightly: in most of my cuffs I have knitted all knit stitches untwisted and have substituted all purl stitched for a slipped stitch column. For faster knitting.  In the top parts I’ve added a few rows so “the fan” runs a little higher.

In some variegated yarn I’ve knitted the wrist part in plain stockinette.

Then there’s this one:

Glittery grey purple yarn!

From Het Wolbeest. The skein I brought home from Kerkrade and shook at angry football supporters. Again nice soft yarn, a delight to knit with. Suitable for socks and next to skin wear.

It’s mate is having a bath:

Just finished. Ready for blocking. I love this colour. (It’s just warm water, not actually tea.)

And the Wollmeise cuffs that started this all, in colour Mauseschwanzchen, knitted per original pattern:

The ones that were on hiatus for so long because I was so bothered by the puzzle of one column of purl stitches being wider than the other:

Pattern picture from Narcissus pseudo-narcissus Cuff by Hunter Hammersen.

A puzzle that turned out to be:

  1. just one of those things when a twisted stitch is next to purl stitch and twists one way but not the other.
  2. just part of the pattern.
  3. something all projects have and nobody else is bothered by.
  4. not important. At all. Go live your life mrs. M.

I haven’t noticed the different sized columns at all while wearing my Wollmeise cuffs. Nor do I notice it when I see someone else wearing them.

Ha! The goats one can chose to burden oneself with…

What I DO notice when I see other people wearing this pattern is that a quality yarn shows. Posh. Wollmeise. The cuffs look simply splendid in quality yarns!

I’m a fool knitting this in scratchy sockyarn such as Regia or Fabel. I should toss those.
The three speckled pairs are not the right colours and are just for fun, as is the Dutch Wool Diva handspun pair.

That leaves me with these:

The sparkly greypurple Wolbeest; the seafoam Wol met Verve; the silvery Dutch Knitting Design -once I’ve found more yarn and knit its partner- and the greypurple Wollmeise.
That’s four (3,5) pair of cuffs to wear this Summer.

That’s not enough.
Not enough at all. I need more cuffs! In quality yarns. In (semi)solid colours.
These (semi)solid colours:

palette textures

Ohoo, I should like some charcoal cuffs! I wish I could grab that charred coal from the screen and wrap it around my wrist.
And lavender ones.
And steel blue ones. Light sky blue ones too?
At least one pair in a greenish grey for sure!
And how gorgeous is that soft lilac of cherish blossom?? With the Fabel gone I have no rose tones…
And more silver greys, definitely more silver greys.

I was pondering pearl white ones and had actually cast on with an offwhite silk I’ve had for years. But I think white cuffs won’t be wise. Not practical for actual living which is what I do. My hands will grabbing at fresh shorn fleece or strawberries this Summer. If the past (week) is anything to go by I’ll be dragging my sleeves through curry and cat hair. White cuffs are a mistake.

Not done knitting cuffs!
But done with cuffs in unpleasant yarn.

From now on I’ll be on the lookout for 20 gram remnants of quality yarns.
Perhaps I can swap some with friends. Even offer to knit us both a pair if they give me 45 grams of yarn? Now that’s a deal to explore over a nice cup of wool tea:

3 thoughts on “Done with cuffs! Or am I?

  1. Love them all, but I hear you on the fabel. I knitted the Marywarmers from Fabel and can’t wear them. But now I want a pair of cuffs too, and I wish I had some of the Socks that Rock yarn left over. A good excuse to go shopping with Wol met Verve!

Leave a Reply

