500th project: mauve socks with leaves.

This morning I cast on with the plant dyed sock yarn I purchased from Wolop last Wednesday. The pattern is my take on Blattwerk by Stephanie van der Linden.

I’ve given the base of the leafs a slip-over-stitch so it has a distinctive beginning. And I’m finishing the tops with a double decrease, for the same visual clarity.

The leafs won’t be sharing stitches and I do a cable crossing to avoid decreasing a stitch that I later need as a purl framing for the textured stitches.

I’m keeping a gusset for longer than the pattern states and also won’t be decreasing it right after I turn the heel. That’s way too tight for my highish instep.

The toe was finished on the card drive to the cabin and now we’re here, amidst the green.

I have a second lettre scale. So much more sympathetic than those electric scales that are always hungry for more batteries and take long seconds to make up their mind when you switch them on: “do I want to weigh something today? Or shall I just pretend the battery died already?”

Leave a Reply

