My sock doesn’t fit

I finished the first plant dyed Blattwerk sock:

I adjusted the pattern to accomodate my high instep. I topped the leafs with a double decrease. And changed all the twisted stitches into regular ones to please my shoulder impingement. I did twist them on the cuff though, to make it different from the leg:

And then:

it didn’t fit.

The leg is too tight for my heel to pass.

I don’t understand. I had the yellow socks with me all the time, studying them and copying that.
Why won’t the leg fit?

It’s because I knitted it over 60 stitches. Like I do all my legs of all my socks.

I know this leg is patterned and this usually affects the stitch number. But I assumed that the faux rib would be a bit stretchy just like the faux rib called “koffieboontje” is but it isn’t. It actually doesn’t stretch at all. On top of that I thought the combination of knits and purls would give more give so I wasn’t worried at all. Just focusing on getting the leafs beautiful and carefully knitting all those twisted stitches in the cuff.

Mind you, the pattern does specify to knit the leg over 70 st. But because I had made modifications and knew the pattern by heart and had my example socks I didn’t reread the pattern.

As usual I fitted my sock many times during the knitting, right to the top of the heel flap. From then it was a home stretch, I thought. I have skinny ankles, I can get away with a leg and cuff of 54 st. 60 will be good.

Well, it isn’t. I’m ripping everything out and wil restart from the top of the heel flap and use 70 stitches. This yarn and these socks are too beautiful not to be made into a pair of fitting socks.

The colour, when I knit with it it’s a true grey but from the corner of your eye it’s a purple grey. And under artificial light it’s purple grey for sure, as all the photo’s show.

Plant dyed yarn is a marvel.

UPDATE:

Knitting on the sock right now. We drove to the cabin earlier today, me and Lillepoes.

One of us was protesting all the way here:

And now she refuses to come outside even though she absolutely loves it here.

She’s beaming and meowing to me through the glass door:

Cats are weird. I better go in and pet her.

Leave a Reply

