X-mas in June

There’s a new KAL starting next Monday, to make 12 stranded mittens, themed to the 12 days of x-mas. Free pattern 12 Days of Christmas Mitten Garland KAL by Kat Lewinski.

The look of the designs is based on wood block printing and silhouette paper cut outs. Both of which I love. Clear contrasts. Playing with shapes and lines. Just my thing.
So I’m joining in. For the first mitten at least, which looks darling:

I’m also joining for the sheer giggles it gives me to do something x-massy in Summer, amidst roses in full bloom. And finding this KAL just as I’m secretly drinking tea from the tea mug I was saving for x-mas which also has that block printing vibe.

I so like it when things unexpectedly tie together. It’s so cheerful, this way I get to giggle each day.

I’m still giggling over two rabbits I met last week!
They are a short haired breed but have magnificent side burns. It’s whitish and so fluffy!
One is smart, the other dim. Both are very happy and they pounce and race and flop about. Living the bunny life.

When I left them I caught the bus and it was driven by a chauffeur that matched the rabbits exactly: magnificent white sideburns! The sort you only know from old Western movies. The kind you never see in modern days.
You couldn’t make it up. Nobody would believe you.

Now I have rabbits tied in my head to the profession of bus chauffeur, some being smart, some being dim. All of them racing across the room, feet squeaking across the flooring boards.
Someone is snoring under the couch.

Leave a Reply

