Altered: the ecoprinted linen top.

From this:

To this:

I put in vertical darts at the front, under the bust. The existing darts at the back were elongated and I put in two new horizontal darts at the back to take away some of the extra fabric that folds up there because I have a bit of a curved inwards back.

I like to think of my back curve as a feature.
If I accentuate that curved back attention is drawn away from my belly and I can freely rock the rolls there.

Which is also why shaping at the underbust is important. To hint that my belly doesn’t start at the apex of my bust. Never wear a potato sack.

This is the part I added to the arm hole. I put in some pleats and stitching to match the front panel.

At the back it’s nothing fancy. Just press, cut, fold the edge under, press again and stitch the seam allowance to itself.

It’s a lovely top now. The ecoprinting is so fascinating to look at. Linen is a great fabric to work with.

Leave a Reply

