Weaving: warping with a knitting tool.

Finally! I’m warping my new (to me) loom. It’s an Ashford Rigid Heddle, 80 cm wide, with a stand. It’s much lighter than my Glimakra and this one will not damage the table top.

It has a fairly low stand and I’ve learned that most people weave sitting down. Either with the loom on a stand like this or with the loom in their lap, its far end resting on a table top.

I love to stand while weaving, I’ve never done otherwise to be honest. But I’m going to give sitting down a try. This loom is so light I can carry it from this room to the sitting room easily so I have numerous chairs to choose from. It also invites me to declutter the floor, which my husband thinks is a good enough reason to tolerate another wooden wool toy in the house..

Tie Rack (Closetmaid) pic by Joe Hall

To warp with even length I was having a look out for those vintage racks people used to hang their ties on. So I saw the potential when I found a bag of Chinese plastics called knitters looms/aids when I strolled through the Action:

A couple of clamps and go warp!

On the other side the warping yarn is on my ball holder:

My yarn ball holder is one of the knitter tools I never thought I needed but now I feel such luxury whenever I use it. It’s wooden and it takes up space and it’s a well made piece of equipment, artisan made.
And it’s multifunctional as it turns out to be!

I’m warping a length of 1.90 m for a cloth of about 65 cm wide. I’m using a high end light fingering I bought at Spinspul at Knit & Knot Fair in Tilburg:

It will shift the colour of two weft yarns which both come from this little number:

It’s the weird hat I knitted but never wore. Pattern inspiration is the wonderful designer Lee Meredith.

The lighter yarn is that beautiful Passe-Partout handspun that I’ve been trying to make into something great for years now….

Fulled singles, 283 m out of 100 grams of really soft BFL.

It has been a shawl, another hat…

At least by now I know this yarn doesn’t knit up really great on its own, colourwise. Combining it with the Wollmeise Lace colour Grand Mère did wonders in that one hat, every colour nuance showed:

It will do wonders in the weaving too.
I don’t know how yet, because I’m a beginner. I have two large weaving sticks, each filled with one colour, and I will alternate them in the weft. I don’t know yet in which rhythm, I’ll have to play.
Colours are in the palette I’m loving at the moment so I’m really looking forward to make a usable garment/item with these yarns and these tools.

 

PS warping this way gives a more consistent length to all the warp threads. When I used the umbrella the outer threads were longer than the middle ones. This can cause a difference in tension. It will definite cause extra loss of yarn because you’ll have to cut away the excess at the sides, in the end.

PS 2

I may have miscalculated how much yarn the warp or the weft takes. It’s difficult to predict because the warp is a wool thread under tension and will therefor spring back more then the weft.

In previous projects I often have more weft yarn but no warp left. For this project I keep in mind I can use the left over yarn to add details with. Perhaps use knitting or crocheting as a border or to attach woven panels together. (just a little note to myself)

Leave a Reply

