Tour de Fleece Day 16: sitting outside celebrating the day.

Spinning the second half of the gradient pack. It’s a beautiful day in the Netherlands. Tomorrow it will be nearly tropical and the same on Wednesday. 30 degrees Celsius and more.

During the day I’m sitting inside with the curtains and shutters closed. I come outside early in the morning and late in the afternoon, just after all the commuting traffic has passed. It’s lovely.

Lovely the second: I’m baking a lot of pancakes!


Pancakes are celebratory food in my family. When I lived in Norway I was baking pancakes and at the same time my brother was baking pancakes, while studying in Spain. Together we spanned the European continent, with my parents somewhere in the middle.
Pancakes also featured in my wedding celebration, ten years ago.

I haven’t had pancakes in a couple of years because it was thought I couldn’t handle gluten but it turns out it’s bran that’s the problem.

Can’t have bran and nuts and corn and seeds and raw vegetables and broccoli and kale and any sulphur rich vegetable and cheese and mascarpone and ham and bacon and alcohol and yeast and fried vegetable oils and garlic and onions. I think that’s about it? And artificial vanilla flavouring.

That leaves me eating pancakes!
This week I learned to make them in a regular pan, not one with the anti-sticky bottom. A real pan needs more fat (I use coconut) and needs to be really hot before you pour the batter.
Then it sticks like mad but if I leave it alone for a while it unsticks itself. The taste is amazing! You are invited to come visit and I’ll bake you a pancake and we can both worry whether it will come loose from the pan or not and then you can taste for yourself!

I eat them with jam/jelly.

(‘jelly’ is American for jam, the Brits use ‘jelly’ for ‘jello’. Don’t try to make a PBJ sandwich with British jelly.)

So I eat pancakes or white bread with full fat butter and a fruity jam once or twice a day.

My third meal is protein rich, to get all the repair-proteins for bodily maintenance and regular operating procedures such as cell division on board.
It can be four runny egg yokes on white bread. Drumsticks, steak, homemade curries, chicken soup, fish. Liver.

Proteins are quite hard for me to digest, what with the weird bodily makeup I have.
First my stomach acid is not acid enough due to low cortisol. But if I supplement cortisol and I overdo it just the tiniest bit digestion is suspended because my body thinks we are in Fight or Flight.
Secondly my duodenum is twisted in an irregular way. The human body isn’t build too smartly anyway in the area where the exit of the stomach is. Organs are stacked on top of each other, with tubes running every which way trying to deliver digestive enzymes and bile. On top of all the colon comes for a visit, twisting its way from the back to the front and then to the back again, just curling forward to keep the exit of the stomach in a choke hold it seems. At least mine does.
Thirdly my liver isn’t willing to produce bile at the moment.
I have to coax and aid all of these factors. No wonder I have to lie down after this meal, when the stomach is ready to release its content.

Then fourthly, if proteins do manage to get absorbed into my bloodstream, I do not have enough blood pressure to push them into my cells.
Fiftly my cells cannot handle proteins very well because of DNA unfortunalities in the mitochondria. I aid this with activated vitamin B12 (methyl-B12 and methyl-folate). For years I couldn’t do this because mB12 is like pouring rocket fuel into your cells: you boost the processes big time. If there are heavy metals or other toxins or not enough minerals and cofactors in the cell the process will burn and crash spectacular, making the person crash too.

It took me a few years to get rid of all the heavy metals, to bring minerals into balance, to boost my blood pressure to minimum working levels and to calm down the various organs and nervous system.

Now I’m at the stage that I can take mB12 and mFolate on a regular basis without burning or crashing. So now I can eat protein and hopefully use it for needed repairs and adequate hormone levels.

And that is how I recovered from ME/CFS. I have a bunch of other problems still to deal with such as Adrenal Insufficiency, messed up neurotransmitters due to MAO A and MOA B being too slow and a traverse colon that won’t work (sending me into Fight or Flight every night).
But I’m not complaining. At least I’m no longer in my bed, very ill. I can sit outside again and spin a bit.

Which calls for celebratory pancakes!

4 thoughts on “Tour de Fleece Day 16: sitting outside celebrating the day.

  1. O my god! How smart of you to have found a way to deal with all this and live a fine life and enjoy yourself. Chapeau.

    • thank you! the smartness comes from busted MAO A, it elevates dopamine, the concentration hormone. High cortisol makes you think on your feet too.

      Now I need to learn to relax and let the Parasympathetic Nervous System take over on a daily basis. That’s not easy when you’re a “little stress-chicken” by nature.

      Also… I make many mistakes. Only the past 8 weeks I messed up with the hormones, robbing myself of serotonine.
      But today I take your compliment 🙂

  2. Actually- there is a difference between jelly and jam (here in America). And while some people use the terms interchangeably- there is a noted difference between fruit spreads.

    Preserves – chunked, uniformed pieces of cut fruit, stored in it’s own juices, in syrup, or in water. The storage liquid is clear-ish, and sometimes slightly gelled, due to the pectin. The fruit should maintain it’s shape during cooking, and be plump and juicy when consumed.

    Jam – fruit that is crushed or chopped, and cooked with sugar (and sometimes pectin and citric acid), until the fruit pieces are soft and lose their shape. It has a spreadable consistency, even though there may still be some chunks of fruit.

    Jelly – is basically jam without ANY fruit solids. Fruit is crushed and cooked to extract the juice. The mixture is strained through a bag made of fine mesh fabric, to ensure that no fruit particles slip through. Jelly is firmer than jam, but not to the point where it is gummy-like.

    Conserve – is jams made from a mixture of fruits. All conserves are jams, but not all jams are conserves. Conserves can also include nuts and dried fruits.

    That’s the main stuff. You can go further, into compotes and fruit butters, but the four examples above should tell you how serious we are about our fruit spreads. 😀

Leave a Reply

