Finished: one wetfelted bag

wet felted bag

This is the smaller of the two. I gave it the fleece felted flap of the bigger one.
wet felted bag

wet felted bagwet felted bag
I took it to the shoe maker who attached leather straps. However due to a miscommunication within the shop he did not attach reinforcements on the inside. These straps might tear the holes in the felt.

Luckily this is a small bag, just for wallet and phone and a knitting project. I think it will be alright. Otherwise I might add a lining that attaches to the straps somehow and relieves the tension on the felt. I don’t know, we’ll see how it goes.

wet felted bag

A close-up of the texture of the bag and how well the locks go with it:
wet felted bag

This bag is quite “neat” in colour and texture. It’s all white on white.
The locks are “neat” too, albeit a bit yellow white. Wool yellow white. It’s the expensive Sikko fleece I was so uncertain about.
They go well together.

The other is finished too. It’s bigger, it can hold my iPad and a notebook and a sweater WIP. It has texture too but I used some of the locks of the fleece and they stayed very yellow and even brown and dirty. Its surface looks mottled and quite busy. It was better to combine it with the piece of felt I already had, the one with the beads, as that is quite busy too.

Now I have one “neat” bag and one “busy” bag. The busy bag has reinforcements for the straps. But it’s clear my shoemaker isn’t as invested into felt bags as the leather masters of Dun Hook who finish bags for het Wolbeest.

I would love to show it to you.
However it’s in use at the moment:
wet felted bag

And by the looks of things it’s going to be a while…
Untitled

One thought on “Finished: one wetfelted bag

Leave a Reply

