Grey and green in the sun.

I’m still at the cabin. Today turned out to be such a beautiful day that I delayed departure until this evening, after all the commuters have gone home. Did you know my country is filled with back up traffic twice a day? Hundreds of miles of stationary cars on the freeways. every morning and every evening. It’s ridiculous. They all cling to old fashioned office ways.

Quick, let’s look at how my reed dyed silk turned out:

Dyed with common reed, just half of the weight of the silk.
Beautiful! A light green. I’m itching to spin this. It goes well with the crocheted flowers.

After soaking a night in the dye bath my t-shirts turned out green also:

Dyed with plants. common reed. 15% alum
That was this morning. I’ve since dried them, rinsed them and they are now drying again. I want to take two with me to the city and incorporate them into my wardrobe.

In other news: during the Summer I had loaned my woolpicker to someone whose father wanted to copy it. Yesterday I went to pick it up and as a thank you I got three Gottland fleeces!

In the box is the winter fleece which is more felted than the other two. Gottland felts on the sheep and they are shorn twice a year, I learned. The summer fleeces are filled with loose, curly locks. The owner puts them through the woolpicker a few times and then spins a nice yarn from it. Slightly scratchy yarn. Sturdy, I presume. Beautiful colour variations in grey.

The winter fleece is not for spinning, it’s matted already. So I immediately started to felt with it:

Here it is, upside down, with all the shorn locks (the end closest to the skin) in the air. If I spread a thin layer of Bergschaf (mountainsheep) on it it will be grabbed and I will get a felted surface with loose locks.

It’s going to be a sack I can put my feet in during the winter. My feet and a cat. It’s the last woolly item I need in my life to be comfortable. All other projects are just for fun and beauty.
Today I continued the felting, in the beautiful weather, wearing my farmers’ trousers and wellies. It’s great stomping about outside, in nature, when it’s good weather and you’re doing things, with your hands.
wetfelting gottland
I like the composition of this photo.

I’m giving the Gottland a backing of light grey Bergschaf. Colourwise it would have been nicer to woolpick the Gottland and use that because it felts very easy, she said. But it’s unwashed and I didn’t want to spend the time or the energy.

Now it’s the end of the day. I’m tired. The sack is huge:

wetfelting gottland
It’s inside out and it has only been fulled. I pushed all the air out and the wool has started to grip upon itself. It was very dirty fleec and a lot of energy went into controlling the dirty water running into a bucket.

A peek inside:
wetfelting gottland
The Gottland curls are mildly attached to the Moutainsheep. Some places need another layer of mountainsheep. More fulling. And then the acutal felting: the shrinking.

That will be a next time. When I’m here again and when the weather is nice again.

Here’s a picture my husband send me from the city: half the country is in the clouds, the other half in glorious sunshine! Guess where he is and then guess where I spend the day 😀

screen-shot-2016-09-06-at-15-00-22

Leave a Reply

