Strong urge to knit a cardigan

Every Saturday evening when I’m at the cabin and mentally preparing for travelling to the city the next day, I have the strong urge to start a new cardigan. I don’t know why.

I do know I already have 4 cardigans on the needles….in various degrees of finishing. All I need to do is get them out of the wool cabinet in my living room in the city and start knitting on them again. But I don’t.

Instead I bring a bucket full of white wool for a bodice and my green bouclé handspun for a yoke to the city. Or all the Norwegian yarn I had. All the Irish yarn too.

Each Sunday I’ve brought yarn for a cardigan to the city. Haven’t casted on though. Yet, today, I’ve gathered up all the dark handspun. I even spend hours deciding upon a pattern…

This is 134-17 Mist by DROPS design:

Large needles, fast knit. Koffieboontjes! The vintage Dutch lock rib, my favourite.

But upon inspection this pattern is knitted bottom up and seamless, which means you need to have gauge spot on. Also: I never figured out how to incorporate sleeves when going bottom up, and closing for the shoulders.

I’m rewriting this top down. Also I prefer the look and shape of Colors of Kauai: set in sleeves. So basically I’m rewriting Colors of Kauai for needles 10 mm.
With the DROPS pattern look and its koffieboontjes, because I do like the look of it (apart from the decreases at the top). Top down also means I can make it as long as I want to. I want a work horse for winter wearing.

I’ve tried to knit with this yarn before. I did nearly a whole Wrenna cardigan but I really don’t like the lace stitches in this bulky yarn. Mine is not as beautiful as the pattern picture:

pattern Wrenna by Kristeen Griffin-Grimes:

 

 

 

 

 

There’s also Iceland by Stephanie White:

Which I once made into a more fitted cardigan called Sidewind:

The special thing is that the leaves run sideways on the sleeves in accordance to the front/back panel even though it’s not knitted as part of those panels. Here you can see it all started with a rectangle that I wrapped around myself, then I added a part consisting of a sleeve, a top yoke (shirt sewing terminology, not a knitted yoke) and the second sleeve:

I started the sleeve with a gusset and half a sleeve. Then I worked to the wrist cuff, turned and somehow added the back part of the sleeve, having the leaves run the other way.

I’d love to reknit this sweater. Solve that problem of flowing leaves without knitting half sleeves sideways. But better not with the bulky dark yarn. That just doesn’t look good in YO stitches.

Well what do you know, another Saturday evening gone and I didn’t knit a stitch.

I did remember that there’s this pattern in my bundle called Love to Make it One Day:


It’sConcrete by Nicole Feller-Johnson
Easy to make, gauge not important. Start a square until wide enough to think about arm sleeves. Think about a warm neck instead: make it a bit higher, perhaps add a few decreases so the collar won’t gape.

Reminds me a bit of Drops’ Eskimo Shrug that I knit into a Franken-eskimo-vest before and which has inspired me before to knit that other cardigan that started with a panel on the upper back:

Those weird things happening at the armpit… knitted lines towards the apex of my bust.
With the weird buttonholes not matching up with the front panels.

I only wear this one when at the cabin. But not because of the weird things. Because I’ve gone off this colour completely. Turquoise, mint, bluegreen, teal. Don’t want it.
It feels like orange to me. Bluegreen is the new orange and I don’t want it.

Time to wrap this up. My Saturday evening is spend, cats and husband are milling around the room, hinting they want to go upstairs.

So: skip rewriting Colors of Kauai in a ridiculous large gauge. Start a back panel in the round, like Concrete. Get to the front. Remember to make it high in the neck at the back. Add some sleeves. Make it a good length. Add buttonbands and let them have koffiboontje mock rib like the DROPS pattern up top.
Need to make up a name for it.

Oh! I haven’t even told you about the yarn. It’s an oldie but a goofie 😉
400 grams, 700 meters. Short stapled organic fleece, akin to Zwartbles. All spun in one weekend back in January 2010 when I was fairly new to Ravelry and spinning and participated in a spin-along.

I spun it semi long-draw ON A LOUET S10 and Lillepoes was very interested:

Leave a Reply

