Following recipe on page 241: printing leaves on ceramic

I had this little vase, bought at the Werk aan de Winkel shop. It is glazed on the inside. The outside seems poreus and I’m hoping it’s suitable for leaf printing. The book Eco-verf (Eco-dye) from Anja Schrik has a good recipe on page 271.

Here’s a sneak preview of the result!
Untitledecoprinting on ceramics, recipe from Anja Schrik

Before printing I “painted” the vase with milk, 3 times, leaving it to dry in between. Having a protein-layer will do something good, it seems.

After drying we went to the cabin. This is two weeks ago:
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscapeecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape

ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape
Gathered leaves: European oak, birch and fern. These are my favourites (apart from Ribes and Spanish Acer –Acer campestre-. Wait. I’ll get some of those too.):
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape

I chose small leaves for my small vase. And some more to print on fabric. Seeing as I’m starting up a steam bath, might as well dump in more things than just the little vase.

Some weird thingies grow on the Red Beech leaves:
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape
I picked different leaves than these.

Soaking the leaves into water for about an hour:
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape

Dipping the fabric in a bit of water too:
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape

I have the sleeve of a washed cotton shirt to wrap the vase in and a piece of silk premordanted with alum and soda. This washed out a bit now but that’s not bad I guess. The residu CaOH2 in the vessel will make it a bit more base, shifting colours more to the green than red, so the book says.

Arrange flowers on vase, with the bottom to the printing surface. The underside of the leaf gives the most colour the book says.
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape

Wrap a piece of cloth around it. I wetted the cloth first. You need about 5 hands and a well trained monkey to do this.
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape

Tie tight with some thread, I used cotton because that’s what I’ve got.
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape

put in steamer for at least an hour:
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape
I’m doing 1,5 hours. Then I’m wrapping the pan into a woolen blanket and leaving it for 5 days. Next weekend I may unwrap it. Or perhaps I’ll wait another week. Two weeks “curing” is no luxury.

I also arranged leaves on the piece of silk. I put the green leaves and the Autumnal yellow leafs in batches, I wonder if there’ll be a difference in colour. This cloth I wrap around a miniature roller pin I originally bought for felting. (if this one warps during the steaming I’ll have to buy another. I need one in the month of november to repair a felted piece I have.)

ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscapeecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscapeecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscapeecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape
ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape

The result one week later, being last weekend:

ecoprinting on ceramics, recipe from Anja Schrikecoprinting on ceramics, recipe from Anja Schrikecoprinting on ceramics, recipe from Anja Schrikecoprinting on ceramics, recipe from Anja Schrikecoprinting on ceramics, recipe from Anja Schrik Wauw!

ecoprinting on ceramics, recipe from Anja Schrikecoprinting on ceramics, recipe from Anja Schrik

The silk remains light in colour. There’s no real difference in intensity from the green leaves or the yellow ones.

All in all a nice experiment and I would love to print more with leaves on a hard surface. This can be ceramics, concrete, the shell of an egg.

Perhaps a next time I can soak the item into a dyebath, while the leaf is tied to it. Hoping I can get something as awesome as these eggs Anja Schrik from Viltwerkplaats dyed in the traditional way from the Baltic:

lezing Eco-verf en boekpresentatie bij Viltwerkplaats Odijk. Plant Dyes, natural dyes, ecoprinting

Omg, their website has been updated and there are workshops plant printing on eggs on April the 9th!

Should I go? Have a lovely morning or afternoon there? Or should I blunder on by myself? I blunder quite alright on my own when it comes to printing leaves on little round objects. First experiment is a succes!

ecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscapeecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscapeecoprinting with leafs on ceramic and silk Dutch landscape

One thought on “Following recipe on page 241: printing leaves on ceramic

Leave a Reply

