Knit & Knot Woolfair Tilburg

Wolop stand before opening:
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016

I found this sock blank an intriguing colour. Very far from my blue-grey-white-lilacs but so very inviting to knit. I long to see the socks (or hat!) that comes from this blank:
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016
It comes with a little sheep progress marker, to mark when you’re halfway the blank 🙂

These handprinted sockblanks are packaged as a milk shake, the Slush Sock Blank:
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016
The makers of StitchFiddle were there:
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016
With StitchFiddle you can make your own charts, both colour and stitch charts. For knitting and embroidery and more. It’s free!

The makers of the program are just the nicest people. She knitted him this vest, using their own program to design the fair isle motives and the letters. There are 14 colours in there and she didn’t even steek! That’s a lot of ends to weave in. The vest looked spectacular, both on the right side and on the wrong side.

I didn’t take any more pictures but here’s an 8 minute vlog by Random Gwen with a nice impression of the fair. You may see a familiar face  😉

On the train home I examine my loot. I bought out of my comfortzone:
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016
Out of my comfortzone with sparkles:
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016
This is how a similar dyed skein is knitting up. Stripey without pooling. That looks promising.
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016

Beautiful soothing colour, firmly in my comfort zone, dyed with logwood. Will be socks that are similar to my onion socks and my other logwood socks. This one is dyed darker and more blue.
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016

This yarn amazes me. It’s 100% wool yet I’ve been wearing these socks all the time and they do not pill nor wear. In fact, I yanked them out of the cupboard this morning and put them on display in the stand. They look that good.

The yarn is not typically round plied nor is it super soft or super smooth (it is superwash though). It isn’t the soft sock yarn that comes from the UK nowadays and is used by all the indy dyers. But it isn’t scratchy either, the way commercial German sock yarns are (Opal, Regia, the Danish DROPS Fabel)

Yes this is a strange yarn. I was more than willing to scoff at but there just isn’t any reason to. And the socks from it are beautiful. I’ll have another pair please.

Then there’s this lovely gift I got from Random Gwen, author of the Random Knitter Podcast:
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016
Great colours! Supersoft. Sparkles. Smelled of sheep haha! People were looking…
What’s in it? Everything!
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016
And it is bunny approved 😀

All this I took home plus the Advent surprise box from Wolop. Come december I will be unwrapping and knitting a miniskein of luxury yarn every day.
Knit & Knot beurs Tilburg november 2016

Before I went to bed:
Untitled

This morning, watching Gwen’s vlog and casting on for a pair of wildly coloured socks:random knitter podcast Knit en Knot beurs Tilburg 2016random knitter podcast Knit en Knot beurs Tilburg 2016

 

One thought on “Knit & Knot Woolfair Tilburg

  1. Ik vond het heel erg leuk om je tegen het lijf te lopen, en dat ik je over al op de beurs zag opduiken 😉
    Je aankopen zien er prachtig uit en ik wens je heel veel plezier met het op breien van je hele mooie, buiten je comfort liggen, sokken.
    o en voor ik het vergeet, ik vond de kleding die je aan had echt je ontzettend leuk staan.

Leave a Reply

