3 dec: does this look like a polar bear to you?

A little study I made late last night:

This morning I thought it may look like a polar bear, especially with little black dots of embroidery thread added. So I went ahead and knitted white blobs in a sea of blue. Later I’ll add black dots for eyes and noses. I hope the blobs miraculously turn into polar bears.

It turned in quite a broad stripe, as broad as the one from the first day. I wanted to knit more blue and was about to add some more floating icebergs but then remembered I like Capomegranate’s cowl because of the small bands of colours:

And thought it’d be a good idea to just knit a small band for today’s colour:

It’s a blue, but a different blue from the polar bear blue. I knitted little diamonds with it, in a dark contrast colour:

I thought that maybe the dark brown will enhance the noses and eyes of the polar bears (not yet added).

Have a look at my very old tea set:
Untitled
It’s from the 1930’s I think. Or the ’50s.
The little diamonds I knitted for today’s Advent bit remind me of the motive on the sugar bowl and milk jug. I plan to revisit the knitted diamonds later on, when I get a yellow or light green skein, and add an accent colour to the centre.

The tea set was out today because I hosted a “pepernoten-knitting-afternoon”. A spontaneous idea I had once I knew we’d be spending this weekend in the city. Six of my knitter friends came by and we had tea and traditional Sinterklaas sweets and we knitted and talked about knitting and showed each other our knitwear.
UntitledUntitled
“Pepernoot” is “pepper-nut”, it’s our word for little blobs of gingerbread that are traditionally thrown into the house of well behaved children by Zwarte Piet.

Halfway the afternoon my husband and I had to step out and throw some pepernoten at the windows of one of our neighbours. Their children still believe in Sinterklaas. I also banged on the front door. The pepernoten rained on my head because their living room is on the first floor.
Untitled
We had “pepernoten” and the speculaas cookies I baked and bits of marzipan “pig” and chocolate money and tangerines and mouses and frogs made of sugar and little merengues shaped like Sinterklaas: all traditional Sinterklaas foods.

It was a lovely afternoon!

Afterwards Lillepoes and I laid on the couch and enjoyed the room with all the left over sweets and the candles still alight.
UntitledUntitled

Some left over cookies:
Untitled

Cookies in the shapes of goat (“cashmere”), alpaca and sheep for the knitters. Four different shapes of cats for the cat lovers. And the antique steamboat Sinterklaas arrives on, filled with parcels and gifts. And a carrot for the white horse Sinterklaas rides everywhere, including on the rooftops.

At the bottom is my new cake plate. I love (LOVE!) rectangle cake plates. Especially handmade, ceramic, with hand-applied glaze. Both vintage and new. I’m also a sucker for x-massy ceramics and bought this one a few weeks ago from a shop whose owners are going to retire.

The one with the cookies on it is very special. It’s Plateel, from Gouda, and was a birthday gift from Lieneke, from Wolop, who knows pottery and is from Gouda 🙂
Last Thursday it was amazing how Sinterklaas-minded Gouda is. Burlap sacks with wrapped gifts everywhere. Lights in the shape of the Saint’s staff (a golden shepherds crook). Art and music. Wrapped gifts in every shop window. I even saw some in a little boat on the canal.

PS
this morning I went out to buy some more tea and I wore my hat and took my bag and looked the part again:
Untitled

One thought on “3 dec: does this look like a polar bear to you?

Leave a Reply

