My Pussy Hat



I dressed up. It’s a beautiful day. I’m going all by myself to Nijmegen.

Today I’m participating in the National Women’s March.

womens march

It’s the first Saturday after International Women’s Day and in a few days we’re having national elections which, just like in the States, has flooded the country with extreme opinions. Polarisation.
I won’t stand for that. I stand for equality. For inclusiveness. For using some common sense and decency. We’re in this together, we are a society and we should take care of each other, all of us, for all of us.


(Been hitting the gym since September. I always planned to start lifting weight from age 40 and now, at 45 yo, I’ve started. Not bad, as I was still bed ridden only two years ago.)

The hat used to be my Too Tired To Think hat, made in 2011:

Made from gorgeous handspun from a Norwegian batt celebrating a Norwegian fairy tale (King Polarbear) and send to me my Ullsmeden in the Fairy Tale Swap Group. In a time when I was really really sick and I hurt so much over Norway.
The colours are from February snow over a forest, touched by the sun.

Now, here, in Holland, there are some voices that the transgender community feels hurt by the overall pink colour of Pussy hats. “They reference white women with pink genitalia.”
Personally I think that’s not the case. I believe the pink comes from “blue is for boy, pink is for girls” and we’re making fun of it.
Either way I have no answer when someone questions my colours today. Shall I tell about Norway?

The March will be inclusive and supportive. I highly doubt there will be any critizing or critique. If so I may sing my conversation partner a song from when I grew up: “You, to me, are everything. The sweetest thing, I’ve ever seen, oh baby! To you, I guess I’m just a clown, who picks you up when you down, oh baby…”
And I’ll shake the bells that are on the cat ears of my hat.

Or, if my voice feels good: “It’s a beautiful day. The sun is shining! I feel good. Nothing’s gonna stop me now. Oh yeah.”

Now I hope someone talks to me. It IS a beautiful day!

2 thoughts on “My Pussy Hat

  1. For real? Some people say oink pussy hats reference whit women with pinker genitalia? First time I’ve heard that. To me it’s word play, pussy means two (at least, there may be more) things. Cat and female genitalia. Where the first is the original. So let’s make cat hats, and let’s make them pink, as pink ribbons are for breast cancer.
    Love your Kvitebjørn Kong Valemon hat. It’s brilliant. But why hurt for Norway?

Leave a Reply

