Mad about Socks: the swap I sent

So in the Dutch Karma Swap Group we’re doing the Mad about Socks swap at the moment and this is the swap I send.

I secretly stalked Anneke, who is very good in knitting socks and loves happy colours. I send her this skein of sock yarn:

Handdyed by Tibbe, who loves happy and intense colours.

I also made an aquarel of her dear dog Dunya:

Using the water colours I bought in Germany and thick, smooth paper. This is actually the first aquarel I ever made. Where I knew a bit what I was doing, I mean.

This is the photo I found online in one of Anneke’s posts and it iss clear she loves Dunya very much. And Dunya her!

Dunya is an elderly Scottish Border Collie. She wears shoes when she goed outside, because of joint pains. A sweet dog wearing socks, that’s how I tied it to the swap.

Her whole family loves dogs so I also made a drawing of her daughter’s dog, who was professionally photographed by Angelique van Doorn from AngeliquevanDoornfotografie.nl:

dog aquarel watercolor
Sketches on the right, send image on the left.
Anneke was happy with them! She went out and bought frames the same day. I’m glowing with happiness 🙂

This is the rest of the swap I send:
swap send
Four solid miniskeins for stranded socks, a brightly coloured half cake I dyed myself when happy colours were very important to me, a mini cake in a yarn that knits up like tiger paws and a key chain of a sheep with adorable feet.

That tiger striping yarn I received myself in a swap but never knew what to do with. I used a bit to knit this pincushion:
Tiny pincushion

This is a good swap 🙂

Mine was well received.
I got to play with watercolours and I’m fortified in my hope that the joy I have when depicting a lovely animal is visible in the end result.
(If you want specifics: I used Schmincke Horadam water colours and a very smooth paper of 300 grams weight: Schut Terschelling Glad (my favourite!)).

The swap I received made me happy too 🙂
I’m looking forward to using the quality Dutch Wool Diva sock yarn. And the glass items are already in use. One holds stitch markers, the other the first flowers of Spring:
Untitled

Leave a Reply

