doing the free style colourwork in de Petal Lace cardi

This is the pattern I made, freehand, for my Lace Petals Cardigan:

made with free charting program Stitchfiddle.com

Now I’m knitting stranded. Working with DK goes fast and there are only 107 stitches. Still it’s not as easy as I thought. Because the pattern has no repeat I have to look at the screen all the time and count count count. And I’m working to and fro instead of in the round. Doing stranded knitting on the WS (Wrong Side) is somehow more difficult than doing it from the RS.

The yellow accents I will embroider upon the knitting. Just like Tilly Trout showed me. Right now I’m seriously doubting if the grey has enough contrast from the green. But there’s always doubt when I knit so I’m knitting on.

In the mean time I’m waiting for the new pattern for the Sock Madness to drop. I also have two other socks on the go, one which I’m going to frog and start over in new, happier colours.

And I’m knitting on my sport weight cardigans, both Pumpkin Ale and Old Towns cardi. These finer yarns make my muscles ache so it’s good to work with thicker yarn at the moment. This is DK, handdyed by Wolop. Can’t wait to add the yellow accents.

Leave a Reply

