Finished: SM Spring socks and Spring yarn

Pattern Lambs and Chickens and Bunnies, Oh My! by Ros Clarke.

I made fraternal socks, I didn’t have enough of the Gouda green left after the first sock. Then I decided to mix all the colours up a bit. Except for the bunnies, I liked them to be the same popping Moonwise purple.

You will notice that, even though I mixed up the colours, the colours in the rolled cast on are the same (albeit in a different sequence). That’s because I made a mistake in the first sock.

We were supposed to cast on with colours A, B and C. Which in the pattern refer to: “A = light green; B = undyed/white; C = yellow” which are the background of the bunnies, the colour of the sheep and the colour of the chicks:

Colour F is the background of the chicks and is called “grass green” in the legenda.

Now then, my stupid tired brain last Saturday evening insisted that the bunnies are sitting in a field of grass (while the chicks are in… some forest?) therefor their background colour must be called “grass green” and since that is colour F in the legenda I cast on with F, B and C: yellow, white and brown.  That’s the left sock:

I corrected for the left sock which is casted on with colours A, B and C: background bunnies = white; colour sheep = yellow and colour chickens = dark brown. The same colours as the first sock but the correct route taken to get there. And a different sequence which explains why they the curly top doesn’t look exactly the same on both socks.

Luckily most honest mistakes that do not butcher the intent of the designer are allowed. I assume this is the case here too but I will have to get official recognition before I can say I’m in the clear.

For the competition the sock needs to be at least 9 inches from toe to heel:

There are other rules too, which can vary per pattern. Here there had to be at least 50 rows between the turn of the heel and the row where the sheep on the foot start.

The leg had to be at least 6 inches high. It’s nice that my size is the usual size Sock Madness knits for so I can be sure the, when following the rules, the socks will fit me.

It was fast knitting. I’m glad they’re done. I love them and am wearing them right now. So pleased with the colours! But I’m glad they’re done, I’m a bit done with sock knitting now. Especially with stranded knitting.

Luckily there’s room for something else now, for example I made 309 meters of this lovely yarn:

out of the raspberry rolls from Schaap & Draak at the Knit & Knot fair in Tilburg:

I think it will turn out to be a worsted or DK weight, what with handspun getting all fluffy after setting the twist.

I’m hoping to make this lovely cloche out of it:

It’s the crocheted The Shelly Cloche by Devon Finney. A nice Spring and Summer hat I think. Can be made in one afternoon! How’s that for fast gratification.

Leave a Reply

