Knit- and Crochet festival in Nieuwpoort last Friday

We had a nice day out in the old town of Nieuwpoort where everybody had joined in the knitting madness. All houses were decorated, both inside and out, with balls of yarns and knitwear. Here’s the beautiful old town hall:
brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017

brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017
The stand of mushroom expert Chiel Noordeloos:
brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017

He was glad to see my projects 🙂

It was on the first floor of the old town hall. Beautiful old atmosphere and exposition:
brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017
brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017

brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017

The people from Stitchfiddle.com where there!
brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017
Wonderful people 🙂 The vest is made with their own program, the free site in which you can make charts for knitting, crochet and embroidery: Stitchfiddle.com. I use it too for my vests and mittens.

There were many vendors and I didn’t take enough pictures. Organizing vendor De Schapekop had a nice idea for trying out little balls of yarns for a stranded wrist cuff. Wolop offered something similar last year.
brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017
brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017 Ooh, nice colours!

This guy…
brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017

brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017

For the mushroom vests I bought some extra ball of white so I definitely have enough and then I enrolled for the same workshop again, next year. (!!)

I also bought a second hand book about plant dyeing. The book by Dutch wool expert Iet van de Vrande. THE book. Heavily sought after. From 1979. Mine is in Swedish…  :s

I did not buy the beautiful carded fleece that was dyed with nettles in a beautiful light green…. celery green. It was suffolk. Enough for a sweater. But I did not buy it. Because we are still sleeping in the attic because I stashed all my fleeces in the main bedroom. And I prefer to spin other fleeces such as Swifter. But I loved that colour and the vendor was such a nice person.

I also did not buy a yearling fleece of Fries Melkschaap. The only breed I still have to try out! It was about two kilo’s, of skirted fleece, looked very good, not much vegetable matter or poo. But they did not offer bank card payments (pinnen) and it was too much of a hassle to try and get the cash somewhere and I was pretty worn out by then and maybe it’s for the best. I’m sure another Fries Melkschaap will trot across my pad on of these years. Let’s hope so. I’ve been yearning for this breed for 5 years now. Exactly the time spinning has become popular and prices have soared and good fleeces are hard to source.

It’s alright, it’s alright. I have the box full of blue Shetland right here next to my wheel to finish. There’s the light green Swifter waiting at the cabin to be carded. There’s half a fleece of blue Merino ready to be wool picked. The other half wants to be washed and have its locks combed (I have a date for help with this this Summer, it’s definitely going to happen). There’s the Bont Schaap yearling fleece from last year waiting to be skirted and washed… And many, many rovings in my stash and all kind of things that can be carded into batts. Breathe. Breathe. There’s plenty of years in the future to find a quality Fries Melkschaap.

I did buy some tea and got a recipe to make ice tea, unsweetened. Will be trying it out during spinning adventures this Summer. Starting next Thursday when I spin at the Sheep Shearing Fest in Lichtenvoorde in the east of the country, near my cabin. Tok! Tok! Tok! Tôôôôôôk!

brei haakfestival de Schapekop Nieuwpoort 2017

art “Swedish Chef” by Paul Schipper for sale

Leave a Reply

