A swap received: Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy

I visited with Meilindis yesterday, in our important city of The Hague. We went for a stroll in the city forest (yes they have a forest in the city, with fully grown trees and it feels like visiting a green cathedral. There’s also a royal palace in the middle. And a Japanse garden.)

trees overhead pic by J E Theriot

After an hour we stopped for tea and cake.
And then she presented me with my swap!
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover
A total surprise! I had only send her her own swap package the other day and now it turns out she was my return swapper all along. For our Favourite Books Swap. Rascal!

She had read the book Hitch Hiker to the Galaxy which is one of my favourites:
swap 42 hhgttg ipad coverswap 42 hhgttg ipad cover

This is an iPadcover is in her own handspun:
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover
Project page here. Adorned with large friendly letters 🙂
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover
Such gorgeous colours. Exactly the green I adore: misty misty green.
For reference: these cat eyes always live in my mind.

Stitchmarkers in the binary code for 42: 101010
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover
I adore mathy geekery like this. Meilindis also mentioned in the swap card that “42” in ascii code is *
And in normal/internet writing an * stand for “anything you like” which is a wonderful answer to the question about life, the universe and everything.

And she knitted a shawl in the blueest blue, which she knows I won’t knit for myself:
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover
The pattern is Magrathea by Martina Behm. Magrathea is the planet where planets are being designed and made.

It has an genius construction: you start at the narrow end on the right and increase, incorporating the lace edge as you go. Then, at 75% of your meterage, you stop all garter stitch and start the lace edge at the left side. It looks like its sibling but is knitted in another direction.
 pic by Meilindis
The famous shawl Hitchhiker is also by Martina Behm and is also inspired by the Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy 🙂

Shawl Hitchhiker en Leftie, also by Behm:

Hitchhiker currently has 27698 projects on Ravelry!

The booklet in the swap is from the ’80’s and invites the reader to look at the world differently. Very suitable, both in reference to tHHGttG as in reference to me.
A wonderful swap!

After all the fawning over the goodies we had a nice lunch and then we went to the high quality local yarn shop of The Hague: Cross & Woods.
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover
It’s “a crafting parlour”…. and they have gorgeous yarns, fabric and fibre:
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover

I went home with this:
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover
Ah… uhm…

That silk cotton yarn will become a Buttercup by Heidi Kirrmaier:

A lovely summer top and I’ve been wanting to knit a second one for a few years now. I knit one in Tussah silk back in 2013 and I wear it a lot, even though it has the totally wrong colour.

Six weeks ago I nearly bought 4 skeins of bright yellow linen at Spinspul but it didn’t happen. Now I’ve gotten my hands on this soft, silvery yarn, I’m sure a Buttercup will happen now!

But first knit like the wind on that lila cardigan! I’m at the sleeve now and I knit in the train towards The Hague and also on the way back. I barricaded myself with woolly things in the train. This my woolly bubble:
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover

Back home and I’m using the iPad cover:
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover
It gives a good feeling about that electronic window upon the world: the iPad.

Meilindis send two pictures of her lovely cat Freya who always helps with blocking:
swap 42 hhgttg ipad cover pic by Meilindisswap 42 hhgttg ipad cover pic by Meilindis
And I just noticed she wrote a blogpost about our double swap and she takes much better pictures than me: go read it here 🙂

Leave a Reply

