birthday gift: a handmade cat tea mug! And lots of cats cuddles.

So last Wednesday I met up with Dootje, from The Woolly Dodo amazing stitchmarkers, and she gave me a birthday gift:
catcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cakeArtushka cat tea mug ceramic ceramics handmade cuddling kittyArtushka cat tea mug ceramic ceramics handmade cuddling kittyArtushka cat tea mug ceramic ceramics handmade cuddling kitty
A big handmade cat tea mug! A wonderful, functional, cat mug!

Remember a while back when my knitter friend Spectre had her birthday and Dootje gave her stitchmarkers and I gave a cat mug from Etsy and we met her cat Suus?

Such a friendly party it was. The mug was from Budapest artist Brigitta Bondar who has an Etsyshop ARTushkashop as well as a brick & mortar shop in the centre of Budapest.

Dootje went to that knitters’ party, knows how I adore cat/tea/ceramics and in August she went to Budapest, to the amazing festival Sziget. She had contacted Brigitte and arranged to buy a mug for me. So fantastically sneaky and lovely!!

She saw her both in her shop and in her booth at the festival:
 pics by ARThuska
She took it all the way back the Netherlands (that’s across the continent of Europe) and then brought it to the cat café Balthazar in Nijmegen to give it to me.

Balthazar is an amazing cat café, with a very nice atmosphere, no hurrying and lots of relaxed and friendly kitties. Among them Coco:
catcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cake
Ew, a naked cat. I’ve never seen a Sphinx cat up close. I imagine all cats have these wrinkles, only they are covered with fur.

Coco is very friendly! And intelligent. And want to play a lot. And adores the sun. She has beautifully coloured eyes but I don’t have a picture of them. Look at that thin tail:
catcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cake

Noor the Norwegian Forest Cat came and laid on Dootjes cat bag:
catcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cakecatcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cakecatcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cake
Such a beauty!

Like I said, a very friendly café. No fixed time by which you have to go. Lots of lovely food. The best cat café I’ve visited until now. Look what amazing cake they had that day:
catcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cake

This is the cat of the owner, who lives above the shop. He is huge! And very friendly.
catcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cake
I’ve never seen a cat that big. He was so friendly. Didn’t like to walk across the pebbles though. None of them did.

The two kittens Kiwi and Moes, always in for mischief. Or falling asleep right in your lap. Or next to Coco who is radiating warmth. And will clean your fur for you.
catcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cakecatcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cake

While we sat there I got a message from home:
catcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cake
“All cats relaxed and happy here too.”

When I walked to the station I encountered this plant, in one of the gardens people create spontaneously in their street, right in the public spaces:
catcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cake
It’s called “Cat’s Whiskers”, kattensnor.

and I made this with my Pentel Pocket Brush:
catcafé Balthazar Nijmegen kattencafé cat café tea cake

I did bring some knitting with me. The lila cardi, which has its back panel finished and now whants its sleeve reknitted. Mindless stockinette stitch, just what I needed. I knitted on it in the train, staring out the window.

Amazing mug:
Artushka cat tea mug ceramic ceramics handmade cuddling kittyArtushka cat tea mug ceramic ceramics handmade cuddling kitty

Want to hear something funny? Spectre and I share rare, handmade cat tea mugs.

I now have this new one, from the same range that Spectre has.

But a previous cat tea mug that I bought and showed here, she liked so much that she got one for herself:

I love how we appreciate the same things, while there’s a span of land and sky between us.

Thank you Dootje! You amazing gift giver.

2 thoughts on “birthday gift: a handmade cat tea mug! And lots of cats cuddles.

  1. A cafe that is allowed to have kitty cats in it? Wow! It’s likely you will never see that here in the USA.

    I love love love those kitty cat mugs! My kitties like to help me spin and weave. They REALLY like to help me play in the wool when I am picking through it. So having a kitty mug for tea sounds very appropriate.

    I am glad you celebrate your relationships with your kitties with those mugs. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

