Keramisto 2017 ceramics fair: buying tea accessoires.

This weekend I visited Keramisto again, the yearly ceramics fair in the east of the Netherlands. Last year I went for the first time, eager to get some unique tea mugs. This year I returned for more things. I went with my neighbour who is a ceramist herself, and her mother.

We arrived early and it was cold and wet:
Keramisto 2017

But never mind because within 5 minutes I had bought these two big tea mugs by Ute Böhm from Müritz Ceramics in Germany:
Keramisto 2017 ceramics keramiekKeramisto 2017 ceramics keramiek
I bought two of salt oven tea mugs from her husband Markus Böhm last year:

This year I bought a matching plate:
Keramisto 2017 ceramics keramiek

Then we found a stall showing work from Joop Crompvoets. He’s a man from Swalmen (yes, the small village in Limburg where The Wolbeest has her wool studio and runs the best ice cream shop in the country. This village is magic.) and he is a master potter. He can plan a thing and then make the thing!

He makes tea things in wonderful salt oven techniques:
 pic by Crompvoets

I bought a tea thing!
Keramisto 2017Keramisto 2017 ceramics keramiek
Yes, that’s a real handmade tea pot, at my house now. Mine! Wow!
It’s amazing at the touch, so smooth but with many textures and colours to marvel at.

You can imagine that after that purchase I was giddy and thrilled and satisfied and beaming and exhausted all at the same time. We’d only been at the fair for 15 minutes and already I was done!
We spend the next two hours slowly making our way through the ailes, admiring all the work. There is such variety at Keramisto!

Unfortunately it was very very cold and I was not suitably clothed. I went back to the car for some back up wools I keep there….
Not sure I fitted in with sophisticated ceramic aficionados after that:
Keramisto 2017
But only one person laughed, the rest behaved and let me look at ceramics in peace:
Keramisto 2017
This was at the stand of Thierry et Christiane Dupuy Joly where I bought a small bowl with big glaze:
Keramisto 2017 ceramics keramiek

At the next stand I saw these small porcelain bowls by Sylvie Gorde:
Keramisto 2017 ceramics keramiekKeramisto 2017
These are ideal to hold water when painting. Let’s see me try tipping over these babies!
They are so fine and translucent. It will be a pleasure to dip my brushes in these.

It was still very cold but the sun came through a bit:
Keramisto 2017

What’s that?
Keramisto 2017
Keramisto 2017 Ah yes. Obviously. A meerkat checking his phone.

We spend a lot of time looking at the wonderful work by Lina Bekeriene (facebook link) from Litouwen:
Keramisto 2017
It’s raku fired, meaning in a fire pit outside and then while the work is still piping hot it is placed in a vat with saw dust. That’s when the clay becomes black and that’s when the glaze cracks and the cracks become black.
Now note how the moon in this work is made from typical Raku glaze (=cracked) while the other glazes are non-crackling glazes. That is amazingly use of techniques.

My neighbour explained all this to me and made me marvel.
And then she made me smell the work….
It smells of firewood! It is amazing.

 pic by Keramisto
All Lina Bekeriene’s lidded pots and containers and tea pots have secret glazing stories on the inside. Like in the middle of the container or on the inside of the lid. This is an amazing artist and one day I am going to buy something from her.

The weather got better.
Keramisto 2017

This is the stand of Hubert Eller from Germany, where I bought two little bowls last year which I use every day, sometime even cleaning it out with that fat finger of mine:
Keramisto 2017

This is work by Ewelina Suchanek, who wants to bring the magic and tactile pleasure of nature to urban people:
Keramisto 2017
It’s raku fired and there are lichen growing in it. She also has jewellery like this. And many containers and bowls. I bought this wonderful “stone” which lies in the hand so friendly and confirming that I held it in my hand for the rest of the fair:
Keramisto 2017 (I didn’t put the lid on right here, it fits perfectly.)

This lady makes fine porcelain for sophisticated tea parties:
Keramisto 2017Keramisto 2017
Maranke Thunig

Potter’s fun: throw raw clay at a display of wooden shoes (clomps) and if it sticks or gets into the clomp you get a prize. A freshly turned plant pot. No idea how you’re supposed to bring a wet piece of clay home, let alone fire it in a kiln!
Keramisto 2017

When we were about to leave I ran across the stand of Shrusko Ceramics, whom I had identified previously on the list of participants to pay a visit. You can see why:
Keramisto 2017 ceramics keramiek
Such friendly and fun work! I love the handpainting, the spontanity of the lines.

They have such eye for detail. They wrapped up my purchases in a really nice way:
Keramisto 2017 ceramics keramiek

Then we drove away, through wonderful Dutch landscapes, crossing the river by ferry:
Keramisto 2017
Keramisto 2017Keramisto 2017Keramisto 2017Keramisto 2017Keramisto 2017

And then we had tea at the inlaws of my neighbour and their pets are as lovely as their people:
hond op schoothond op schoothond op schoothond op schoothond op schoot
I’ve never had a dog sit in my lap!

2 thoughts on “Keramisto 2017 ceramics fair: buying tea accessoires.

  1. Wow thanks! I couldn’t go but you took me along past the stalls. You bought lovely things. I adore the raku. And everuthing else really.

Leave a Reply

